Cherry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I don't usually like to rate recipes that I've altered...but this turned out great so I had to share: I omitted the buttermilk and subbed a 6oz container of plain greek yogurt for the mayo which slashed the fat and calorie content, but b/c I used greek yogurt it did not compromise the flavor or texture. I also used craisins instead of cherries, cashews in place of the pecans. I also used seasoned salt to taste and added about 1.5 teaspoons each of fresh chopped thyme and rosemary. This gave it such a bright flavor! My husband said this was the best chicken salad I've made and I've tried ALOT of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Loved it! I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used plain yogurt instead, and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I used dried cranberries. Really good mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I tought this recipe was great! Had to make a few substitutions but it still turned out delicious. Used miracle whip light instead of mayo, dried cranberries instead of cherries, and chopped scallions instead of celery. Also added a little garlic made into a paste to the miracle whip. Loved the flavor from the apples and toasted pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Would give 5 stars, however, I prefer measurements on the protein as chicken breast can vary in size. I used ingredients with 4 cups of diced, leftover roasted chicken but needed to add extra mayo & buttermilk to hold together. added a tsp of deydrated onion and a splash of vinegar. I couldn't find dried cherries so subbed cherry flavored Craisins. I've prepared similar with walnuts but the toasted pecans were good too. It's best to lightly toast nuts for more flavor. I like this recipe but felt it needed a bit more acidity (i.e.,vinegar, lemon or lime juice). I prefer to leave in fridge for a few hours to let flavors combine Great starting point to add anything else to your own taste. I look forward to using the dried cherries (plumped up in hot water 1st) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very good, especially on a bed of greens and toasted french bread on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Very good - needs some acid - either lemon juice or apple cider vinegar. Other than that... it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Left out apples and pepper. Substituted dried cranberries for the cherries. Absolutely fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
My 2nd favorite chicken salad on this site - "Fruited Curry Chicken Salad" is the best!! This is a close 2nd though and very tasty. I highly recommend both recipes if you are into chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I was disappointed with this recipe because I expected the dried cherries to have more flavor than they did. On the whole, the recipe was great, but the cherries had no taste in and of themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States