Cherry Cheezecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This is cool! Since other people thought it was too lemony, i used the zest and juice of one lemon, and it was good. I can still taste the tofu though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
never set up right, had a strange consistency and was too lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
I made this recipe last night and it was great! After reading the other reviews I had to taste for myself, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. I modified it a bit by adding 1 cup of pure pumpkin, 1.5 tsp of pumpkin spices and juicing only 1 lemon, but it was just as tasty as any pumpkin cheesecake I've ever had! My meat-eating parents enjoyed it as well. I will be making it again for Thanksgiving and maybe even Christmas too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Honestly, they were right when they said, "No one will be able to tell the difference." No one was able to tell that this was NOT "cheese" cake. I will be making this for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
WOW!! this recipe rocks! i decided to turn it into a lemon cheesecake since most reviews seemed to agree it was a little strong on the lemon. i made a lemonglaze from icing sugar, lemon juice and nondiary margarine. i also made my graham crust according to the package directions. i was so impressed with the texture and how well it all held together. it really looks and tastes great! i can't wait to try different flavours and toppings with this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Excellent recipe!!! With some fine-tuning -- as per the suggestion of 2 earlier reviews, I used less lemon juice and lemon zest than suggested here. I also, since I thought the number of serving sizes (4) was too small for my purpose, and had a 12 point something ounce package of silken tofu, made 50% more by multiplying all the cake ingredients besides the crust, the topping, or the lemon zest and juice by 1.5 times the amount listed. Almost all of it still fit in the 8 inch glass pie pan I used and it made bigger servings. I did NOT increase the amount of lemon zest or lemon juice, however. I kept the lemon zest the same (1 Tbsp.) and actually LOWERED the lemon juice to juice of ONE lemon. My 1.5x version made about 8 or 9 servings though, so I think the regular recipe really makes about 6. I also added the vegan all-natural Earth Balance margarine substitute to the crust, but still had problems with it -- there was two much of it, and it held together, but could have been more solid. Also it needed more flavor IMO -- I plan to experiment with other pie crusts. Given all the changes I'm making, why am I still giving it five stars? Because the texture and basic flavor alone are worth at least five stars -- this recipe came out INCREDIBLY cheesecake-like, and was the most authentic tasting and feeling vegan cheesecake I've had. I think AllRecipes should list it in the regular cheescake files too -- most meat eaters would love it. It's a little less heavy th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This recipe would surprise even the most die-hard non-vegans. Yummy and light. Recipe calls for too much lemon juice. I used the juice of one lemon and even that was too much. Next time I will use the juice of one half of a lemon. I found it very difficult to get the crust into the pie pan. It was too sticky -- stuck to my hands rather than the pie tin. Eventually, I tried greasing my hands with a little vegetable oil and that helped. Next time I may use margarine instead of maple syrup. Otherwise it was a great dessert, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
Thank you *sooo* much!!! I have finally found a **great** tasting vegan cheezecake!!! Yeeeaaaahhhh!!! **smile** Please do try this, it is awesome and everyone I served it to loved it. Absolutely yummy! I would make a couple suggestions though (personal pref.)... Cut down on the lemon rind and juice a bit or it will be too tangy (though the flavor does mellow out the next day), instead of the cherry filling I made a blueberry sauce, and I also used a traditional graham cracker crust (I used a vegan margarine if anyone is wondering).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I love this recipe! I'm the only vegan in my family and everyone who tasted this thought it was great. Two people said the texture was slightly different, but I didn't notice any change(if anything it was for the better). If you don't like using the white confectioners sugar fine ground beet sugar would probably do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Although the flavor was pretty good, this didn't really turn out that well. I may try it again, although If I do I'll use a muffin pan to make individual portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States