Cherry Cheezecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I am an avid cheesecake fan, and I found this recipe to be just as good, if not better than the real thing! I made this recipe because my mother-in-law is allergic to dairy and I wanted to surprise her with sweet goodness for Christmas. Everyone loved it and didn't even know that it wasn't the real thing. The only thing that I did different was eliminate the lemon all together and added 2 tbsp of Vanilla instead! I am going to make this instead of real cheesecake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
i used less lemon and substituted brown sugar for the powdered. i also bought a premade crust. i'm new to vegan cooking and was really suprised at how great this turned out. when we finished it my boyfriend bought the ingredients to make another one. i think i actually prefer this to real cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I loved this! I had extra blocks of Nasoya extra firm tofu on hand and wanted to try something new. I made my pie in a pre-made pie-crust and left out the lemon aspect all together. I combined it with the chocolate tofu dream pie (a pudding pie) recipe on the site and made it chocolate cherry cheesecake. It was simple, I just added some baking coacoa into the mix (about 1/2 - 1/3 cup). I also used fat-free cream cheese since having dairy wasn't a problem for me. Thank you so much for this recipe! I was skeptical at first, but I will definitely make it again. Even thinking of a gluten-free version for my sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I used less of the lemon juice and added butter extract. Also used fat free cream cheese and made the crust with 2 C graham crackers and 1/4 c butter. I made a sauce out of raspberries, blackberries and blueberries for the topping. No one knew it was made with tofu. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I gave this a 5* even though I didn't care for the crust, because the filling is great (just like cheesecake) and my husband liked it! (he hates tofu). I used Azumaya Firm Tofu and Tofutti imitation cream cheese and it cut great. Also used Tofu Sour Cream instead of soy milk, only 1 Tb lemon juice and skipped the rind. Will definitely make again, but with another crust (this one was soggy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Fantstic taste. Served it at a work party- nobody could tell it wasn't the "Real" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I tried this recipe for our vegan friend's birthday - he seldom gets to eat desserts, let alone cheesecake! Well, everyone at the party loved it and didn't know it was dairy & egg-free. I did add a bit of vegetable oil to the crust so it would stick together better, and I also substituted fresh strawberries simmered in jam for the topping. I would definitely recommend anyone (especially vegans) to try it. It's so easy to make - if it didn't turn out right, you may have used the wrong type of tofu (make sure that it's the silken kind for sauces). The second time I made it, I doubled the recipe just so there would be enough for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I am NOT a good cook and I needed something impressive to take to my next veggie potluck, this is PERFECT!!! This cheesecake is sooo good! I did like everyone said and used less lemon, and I used firm silken tofu, it held together nicely but was a little tricky to slice so I think next time I will use X-Firm. Deffinately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
My oldest son is allergic to egg and milk, so I am always looking for recipes the whole family will enjoy. This was a wonderful cheesecake. My husband loved it, and we were actually shocked that it taste so good. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This was my first try at making non-dairy cheesecake, and I was more than a little disappointed. I only altered the recipe slightly, making mini cheesecakes in metal cupcake cups instead of one whole cheesecake, and I also used less lemon and more vanilla. But I was disappointed in the texture, as well as the taste. My boyfriend, who is not LI, did not like it at all, and even though I am used to the taste of tofu and soy, I did not care for it either. IMO it definitely left something to be desired, and was not a good substitute for the real thing. However, I think I will try this recipe one more time, just to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States