Cherry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
My family has also been making this for years! One tip: recently I made this with non-fat sweetened condensed milk and it took 5 days to set properly. Still tastes good, but if you want it to set in a reasonable amount of time, you must use the regular version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tynesjl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This is absolutely the best cheesecake in the world. My family fights over it. We used to save it for special occasions but now we make it year round. I will say to all of you who think you can get by without 1/3 cup of lemon juice, you're wrong. That's what makes the pie set and remain firm. You must add all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I'm baffled as to why this doesn't work out for some people.I made 5 of these for a potluck dinner (I was resposible for bringing all the dessert) and I needed something very quick and very easy to throw together. I bought pre made graham cracker crusts,and a few different varieties of toppings, and was able to whip this up in batches in my food processor in about 20 minutes. I stuck them in the fridge for about 12 hours, and I had a dessert that everybody thought I slaved over and looked and tasted great! I'm wondering if people may have decreased the lemon juice. This is an integral part to the taste and the consistency of this cheesecake. It takes care of that sweetened condensed milk taste too!! Anyway, thanks LJ for an easy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This recipe for cheesecake is pretty good, it's quick and easy, however you want want to hold the condense milk though, the cheesecake turned out to be very sweet and might not suit the taste suits of the older people. I used more "light" cheese and less condense milk instead, to reduce the sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is such a delightful recipe.it does take the cheesecake alot of hours to firm up.But what i did to give if more of a cheesecake taste was to add about 1/2 of another 8oz of cream cheese to it and it also help it to firm up more,even though i left it in the refrigerator overnight yummy yummy cheesecake.This sort of have a keylime taste to it but all in all it's delicious.I have many this cheesecake numerous time for many many people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This is the only cheesecake my husband will eat. I have been making this for him for years. The only problem with this recipe is that I have to make this when he is not home,because like a child he can not wait until it sets. (Ha-Ha) Tip: Do not try to use already softened cream cheese,be patient & wait for the pkg to soften. As I have tried this in a hurry & the pie does not set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
After 2 days it was still runny and the condensed milk taste was too strong. Nobody who tried it liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
An excellent cheesecake! Best if eaten a couple of days after making, so that the flavours of the ingredients have a chance to blend properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Despite everyone else either loving or hating it, I'm giving this one 3 stars. I agree with those who say it tastes great but, also with those who found it didn't set. I even tried decreasing the condenced milk, and increasing the cheese content (needs some kind of thickening agent?). If you don't care what it looks like, but want an authentic taste that's easy to make then go for it. if, on the other hand, you want to wow dinner guests with a professional looking dish don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was not for us. Though it set up, it was still quite "wobbly" and the flavor was a bit odd. It wasn't our favorite cheesecake. I'm not a cheesecake novice, I followed the recipe exact. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States