Cherry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2000
This pie is very delicious and quick to make, but I found that it called for too much lemon juice. The final product is almost sour from the amount of juice you add (1/3 cup!!!). I only add half of this and it remains a very good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
Family loved it and so easy to make. Tooke longer thn three hours to set up. Took overnite but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
This pie filling comes out very soft - more like a custard than a typical cheesecake. I think it might be better if you double the amount of cream cheese and use less lemon juice. Plus, the calorie content is probably much higher than indicated. The calorie content is based on 12 servings, but we normally only get 7 or 8 servings out of a typical 9-inch graham cracker pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This is my husband's ABSOLUTE FAVORITE cheesecake recipe. Despite the many cheesecake recipes he has tried, this one "takes the cake"! ;) . It's actually quite a relief that this cheesecake recipe is so popular in our house, because it's probably the easiest recipe out there. Be sure when you make it not to over-beat your mixture, because that might make it too "soupy". We really like raspberry filling on top when we can find it. This is the only cheesecake recipe that has found it's "trophy spot" in my recipe book... it's a DEFINITE keeper! (NOTE: To all those who think that putting less lemon juice in is the answer to a "thicker" filling... NOT TRUE! One time I accidentally forgot to put lemon juice in it, and the filling was soupier than pudding... even after a FULL DAY of chilling! Lemon juice is the key.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This recipe has been around forever. I've made it literally hundreds of times and it's never been sour, nor has there been a problem with it setting. It's very good as a key lime pie also. I add 3/4 cup unsweetened lime juice such as Nellie & Joe's brand in place of the lemon juice. Warning, 3/4 cup does make it a little tart, but not overly so, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This is the only cheesecake my husband will eat. I have been making this for him for years. The only problem with this recipe is that I have to make this when he is not home,because like a child he can not wait until it sets. (Ha-Ha) Tip: Do not try to use already softened cream cheese,be patient & wait for the pkg to soften. As I have tried this in a hurry & the pie does not set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This was a great recipe to try. I also tried it with fresh strawberries instead of the cherries and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
if you add 1 8oz tub of your favoret flavord cream cheese it makes it so much better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
An excellent cheesecake! Best if eaten a couple of days after making, so that the flavours of the ingredients have a chance to blend properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Great cheesecake! I wasn't so sure about using only one package of cream cheese, but since that was all I had, I made the recipe, and it turned out great! I love lots of cherry pie filling on mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States