Cherry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is ok, but it is not exactly "cheesecake". The taste was too sweet for my liking due to the whole can of sweetened condensed milk. The texture was pie-like, but it still did not set up well enough after being in the fridge overnight. When we cut a piece out, the rest of it just oozed into that spot! I did not put the cherry pie filling on it, we used fresh blackberries and strawberries instead so the sweetness would not be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I made this for my daughter who loves cheesecake. It tasted great, though, the fact it is mostly condensed milk turned me off personally a little. They didn't know that. My BIGGEST problem though, is that it never set well. It's like pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikbratt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
OK here's how I rated. Quick and Easy: Five stars Appearance: Four star (I was able to have it stick together fairly well. I beat it a very long time to help it thicken and I added my can of fruit only after my filling had set and I refrigerated my can of fruit to have it thick.) Taste: Two stars. It didn't taste bad but it was way too rich. Everybody agreed that no one would ever go for a second piece and no one could finish their piece (not even kids). I WILL NOT MAKE IT AGAIN. I'd rather put in more work and have a delicious turn out. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Simple and delicious. Most reviewers had a problem with setting. Since I've never made cheese cake, I pulled up a lot of different recipes to compare. Try using a little bit more cream cheese; about 1/4 pkg more, leaving everything else the same. Comes out perfect! I used a fresh squeezed lemon, which gave it a little more punch. The second time around, I added 1/2 tsp Knox clear jello to the lemon juice, let it gel for about a minute and it started to set within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
didn't set right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was fantastic! I sent my husband to the store and he accidently got the whipped cream cheese so it was a little runny but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trsweetheart
Living In: Danville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
very easy very delicious cheesecake i made it exactly as suggested and I LOVED it. my husband though loved it better wen i added an extra 1/2 packet cream cheese gives it more of a cream cheese flavour and less tangy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This came out awesome! It was my first time trying this so I followed the recipe. I wouldn't change anything in the future either. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikermike924

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Okay everyone I THINK I may have figured out the issue as far as the cheesecake taking too long to set, it may be the BRAND of lemon juice used. I started off with making just 3 cheesecakes, but when people heard I was making them they put orders in. The first 3 I made I used the Wal-Mart brand of lemon juice, the cake batter came out very runny and has not set after 6 hours. I ran out of lemon juice, went and got the Real Lemon brand and with each of the final 3 the cake batter came out thicker and seems as if they will set before my first 3 do. Other than that it tastes nice although the Real Lemon brand seems to be more potent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years, just as my mom had done, since the sixties. Just about EVERYONE loves it, other than those who have no sweet tooth whatsoever. As far as it being runny for prior reviews - something obviously went wrong. Maybe you forgot the lemon juice or had old cream cheese and condensed milk. It should sit up quite nice after refrigeration for a few hours and yes does seem to get even better after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cockeysville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States