Cherry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I first learned this very easy but delicious recipe then I showed my boyfriend. Now at least once every 2 months he makes 2 of these cheesecakes and I love them everytime. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittanyrenae07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe has been my mom's most popular dessert growing up. For those of you looking for a firm cheesecake, this is not that type of cheesecake. This will thicken a bit after a day (best to refrigerate overnight if not longer; we always liked it better after 2 days but still delicious after 1). Regardless of how long you let it set, the pie will still have a creamy texture. It is a no-bake recipe so it will not get thick like a traditional cheesecake. If you like a creamy cheesecake, this is the recipe for you! Like another review stated, you are better off using regular condensed milk vs.low-fat or fat-free because the less fat in the condensed milk the more runny the pie will be. If you want to make it more healthy use 1/3 less fat ceam cheese and/or reduced fat pie crust. I also use this recipe as a base for my key lime cheesecake with some obvious modifications. 1 can condensed milk, 1 package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese(I leave out the vanilla in the key lime version and of course no cherries), and I substitute the lemon juice for about 2/3 cup key lime juice...depending on how tart you want it. Another favorite in the house and so easy to whip up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I have been making this for over 25 years..It is a big hit at all functions...But the last two times I made it,it did not set well..I have no idea why..I did not change anything..Any thoughts...Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have been making this kind of cheesecake for years. I have never had a problem like some of the people are stating. Kind of baffled but oh well. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is the recipe my mom made when I was a kid, and it's the recipe I use now anytime it's my responsibility to bring a dessert to an event. It's always a hit! I increase the cream cheese by a couple of ounces, decrease the condensed milk and lemon just slightly (to taste), and I never put in the vanilla. I have never had a problem with it setting within five hours or so. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara23NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saxapahaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
**** This recipe is wonderful for a hot day no baking and it taste yummy. I changed the cherry pie filling to a homemade blueberry filling. So easy to make. Yes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My family has been making this cheesecake for years and we love it! A little tip to get your cheesecake to set up properly within a couple hours: beat the softened cream cheese by itself for several minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. Sets up perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My grandmother had a cook book from the 1970's with this exact same recipe. My husbands loves it and asks for it every birthday. Having made it numerous times, I've learned a few tips to helping it set. 1) You have to use all the amount of lemon juice called for or it won't taste right. 2) You must chill for 5 hours at least, preferably overnight. 3) Don't make it on a sweltering hot 90 degree weather day with no end in sight or it will not set. (Don't ask, lol) 4) If you make your own baked graham cracker or vanilla wafer crust, wait till it has cooled completely to put in filling. As a extra measure I also put the crusts in the freezer for 10 minutes or so. 5) Serve the cherry pie filling on the side. 6) I sometimes use extra cream cheese, but it has set just fine with and without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I have made this cheesecake several times and have found it mistake proof every time!! I love it and so do the people I make it for. Cream cheese must b room temp and lemon juice essential:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
My husband loves cherry cheesecake and this is his favorite recipe! It sets in 5 hours and is totally firm and ready to eat! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States