Cherry Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Tips for a perfect turnout! Okay, So I have been using this recipe for a few years now(thanks to Eagle Brand Condensed milk. This is a great recipe and very simple, however there are a few variables that could turn this into a permanent runny mess! 1. Lemon Juice is a MUST as it is the "hardening" agent in this recipe or rather the citric. The Citric in the lemon juice combined with most condensed milk will have a thickening effect when left standing and chilled. Usually 1/3cup is the least amount needed to achieve this however 1/4cup is the safest route if you are unsure. (Time is also a factor so using a mixer to blend this as WELL and quickly as possible will help as thickening begins quickly, so mixing will counteract this) 2. The cream cheese simply says softened, This should translate to "room temperature" or heated for at least 20 seconds or long enough to make it smooth when mixing and not thick and sticky. (I noticed that though heating works, leaving out for 30 minutes at room temperature works best. This would be because it evenly whips it and spreads it thoroughly. Last from personal experience, It seems the chilling/refrigerating is what aids the most with the citric and condensed milk thickening and using a cold base (like chilled cream cheese) to start prevents this all together. Not sure why but this always seems to be the deciding factor in whether this recipe turns out well or not. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was my first time making Cheesecake ever. I made it for a friend for Christmas and he said it was the most amazing that he's ever had. I had to try it for myself and he was right. Definitely going to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a dessert I made yesterday. I made my own graham cracker crust by pulsing graham crackers and cinnamon in a food processor and pressing them into 13x9" pan that held a stick of melted butter. I substituted almond extract for the vanilla. I used the 14 oz. can of sweetened milk, but increased the cream cheese to 12 oz. to help fill the larger pan. Lemon juice was increased to about 1/2 cup. I also added a 6 oz.cup of raspberry yogurt and about 10 fresh raspberries when mixing the filling. It gave the filling a great raspberry flavor and a nice pink color, and the yogurt provided a little more tartness. I added fresh raspberries on top for garnish, and it set up pretty well in about 2 hours. This went over very well with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I've made this recipe for years. It's not only quick and easy, but it tastes great. I've never had problems with it setting either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. I have been making this for years, since I was a child. I have never, ever had it not set up. I have probably made this 100+ times. It is a quick, easy recipe. It is sweet and tangy, and works well with different toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have been making this pie for years. My son who doesn't like sweets loves this pie. I have never had any problems in making it and am also confused why it didn't work out for some people. Maybe try making it again. One thing I always do first though is mix the cream cheese until creamy before adding the other ingredients or else I have chunks of cream cheese in my pie. It is an easy recipe and will be making it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tequila
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
It was really simple and easy i followed the direction except for one thing of one of the other people on here made a comment about putting it in the oven for like an hour and I did that and it seems to have come out really good um I prefer the oven for an hour and then you let it chill in the fridgerator for an hour as opposed to letting it sit for 5 hours then I heard some other comments they will like it was wobbly still so I just put in oven for a hour and it worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Using TWO eight ounce packages (lowfat, not fatfree) cream cheese & fatfree sweentened condensed milk, you've got a very good no cook cheese pie! Krista's recipe. I wonder if it's a misprint since some had runny pies. That extra block would fix the problem. Hmmm ... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have made this pie for years. Yes you must use the whole amount of lemon juice. Also many people get evaporated milk and condensed milk mixed up. Condensed milk will not "pour" out of the can it is thick like pudding. Also calling this "cheesecake" is not correct.. cheesecake is baked, and there for very firm. This is a softer set more like a cream or pudding pie. Hope that helps for the folks who have it not setting correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have loved this since I was a little girl. Of course, back then it didn't have a graham cracker crust, and no pre-made pie-filling either. Regardless of that, it's still a favorite, and my husband LOVES it. I like to add 1/4t of almond extract. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States