Cherry Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This is a wonderful and simple recipe. However, for a firmer filling, reduce lemon juice to 1/3 cup and beat the cream cheese while still firm (do not soften). This is the way I have prepared this recipe for years and it turns out beautifully and delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This recipe has also been in my family for years....My mom always told me to put the cheese pie in the oven for 15-20min. at 350. And you will have a perfect slice every time. I promise:) It doesn't even matter if you like 1/3 of a cup lemon juice or 1/2 of a cup. Low fat cream cheese or fat free sweetned cond. milk it will set perfectly if you pop it in the oven for a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ ~ ~Shea~ ~ ~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I think the problem with the bad feedback on this is because it says 14 ounces of condensed sweetened milk and it should read 8 ounces. One small can to each 8 ounce block of cheese. I used 3 cheese to 2 milk and beat it until it was fluffy and it was delicious. The extra cheese helps to take away the excessive sweetness. I backed off a little on the lemon juice too. About 2/3 of what it calls for even though I added the extra cheese. Also, the cheese should stay cool to get a fluffier pie. I took it to a dinner last night and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
My Grandma Helen used to make this all the time and everyone loved it! She used to call it "Cherry O'Cream Cheese Pie". Now, I get to make it. First she would take the graham craker crust and let it bake in the oven at 350 for 8-10 minutes and then let it cool. For those of you having trouble with it setting, her recipe card calls for 1/3 cup of lemon juice, not 1/2 cup. Let the cream cheese soften to room temp and whip it until fluffy then gradually add the milk and beat until well blended. Then add the vanilla and lemon juice. Chill it for at least 3 hours. Then she would add the cherry pie filling on top. I'm sure then it'll come out just like hers did. And like Grandma's always do, she'd add whipped cream on top! Those were the days..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made my own crust out of half of a package of oatmeal cookies I found in the back of the pantry and 1/4 cup of melted butter. I baked it for eight minutes and cooled before I poured in the cheesecake filling. I used fat free cream cheese and "free" Cool Whip. The cheesecake was a little loose, if I were to make it again, I'd use half the amount of lemon juice. It was too much. I used my own low-sugar dessert topping over the top made out of Splenda, lemon juice and frozen strawberries, blackberries and cherries. Looks great and is a sweet way to clean out my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
My husband's favorite dessert is cherry cheesecake. I had never made one before so I chose this recipe because it was quick and easy. It was so embarrassing, I am just glad that I didn't prepare it for guests. The pie never did set up - it was runny and awful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This is the most delicious cheesecake recipe - I've been using it for 35 yrs- if it doesn't set properly one might not have actually used "sweet&condensed milk", but something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
My family has been making this recipe for about ten years. It is such a favorite that the kids request cherry cheesecake pie instead of birthday cake on their birthdays! We have never had a problem with the pie setting, it usually is firm enough to serve within an hour, two at most. Do not try this recipe with any low-fat substitutions, it doesn't set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
DO NOT use low fat substitutes, this pie will not set unless you use the ingredients as listed! Easiest pie ever. Amazing taste, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Hi, looking all over for a "Good" pie, I tried this one because of its good reviews. I followed the directions step by step, took the list to the store to get exact items listed. It was delicious, but it never set right....too watery, not firm like a excellent cheesecake pie should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States