Cherry Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I've been making this exact recipe for 20 years! Now, I triple it, minus 1/3 cup lemon juice (2/3 c.instead of a full cup) and I use two cans of sweetened condensed milk instead of three, to make a 9" x 13" pie. Also, to reduce the fat,I use the 1/3 less fat cream cheese(Neufchatel), and use fat-free sweetened condensed milk. My brother-in-law thought I was lying about it being low fat! My husband has a large family, so we always make one for the holidays. It's also a hit at church potlucks. The only downside is that I have to make my own graham cracker crust. I usually assign that job to my husband:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
HINT***Knox (unflavored) Gelatin...for those who have problem with pie setting. Mix 1 1/2 to 2 t of it into your fresh squeezed, 1/3 cup of lemon juice & let it stand for 1 minute before incorporating into cream cheese/milk mixture. If you use fresh--crush your pulp or strain it. I've experimented with flour & cornstarch & while both did thicken, it gave pasty-chalky texture to filling. Thus the reason I tried gelatin. It lends no flavor, keeps the creamy texture & you DON'T have to decrease lemon juice which is key for the pies delicious taste. I sometimes add 1 T of fresh grated lemon peel to my filling. You could always add (instead of gelatin) an additional 1/4 cup of cream cheese but I think it cuts the intensity of the lemon juice. The original Kraft/Phildelphia recipe calls for putting the Cherry Pie Filling on top of whole pie but I believe this aids in the filling not setting well enough for clean slicing. I think it's just too heavy & wet a topping for a cream-type pie. It also makes pie look terrible after a few days (leaking). Anyway, I've always diplored that part of the pie. I HATE, Yuck, HATE that gooey, gelatinous glop of 'over processed' mess. Did I forget to say I hate that stuff?. I prefer thawed sweetened strawberries, frozen cherries or fresh strawberries macerated in sugar & a large dash or two of Grand Marnier. Whatever topping you choose, try spooning over individual slices instead...gelatin or not. But gelatin will give solid slicing. Promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This turned out terrible like soup I left it in the fridge over night it never firmed up I didn't have lemon juice so I made it with out thinking it would only affect the flavor not the consistency but may be that was the problem. Also the batter was room temp when I poured it into the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I, too, have been making this pie for years. My husband always asks for this for his "birthday cake", so once a year it is served with candles on top! To change it up, I make the pie according to the recipe (in a graham crust), but top it with an assortment of sliced fresh fruit. Just start on the outside of the pie making a circle of one kind of fruit, and work your way to the middle using different fruits. Strawberries, kiwi, red grapes (cut in half, and canned mandarin slices are my favorites. It looks beautiful and your guests will be so impressed - just don't tell them how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Such a yummy pie! Great with the cherries, fantastic without them. Terrific with fresh strawberries on top or with fresh peaches on the bottom. Really good in a baked pie shell. Just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyRH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe has been a crowd pleaser in my family for years. My daughter loves it and makes it every chance she gets. I like it with blueberry or cherry topping. Also great without a topping. I've also replaced the lemon juice with lime juice on occasion and is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I have used this recipe for 20 years. It is fast, never fails, and always tastes wonderful. I have substituted fat-free cream cheese, but it makes a softer pie. The taste is very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This is so quick and yummy and tastes awesome. I normally would do without the cherry pie filling and substitute something else, but it tasted good over cheesecake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
To make sure the filling sets up beat the cheese til it's very smooth and fluffy, then add the condensed milk slowly like a couple of tablespoons at a time and beat til it thickens up before adding more. Think of it like making whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
as it is, this recipe is a little bit too rich - i add a carton of cool whip to the recipe. it makes more than a 9" pie will hold, so i take the extra and whip it up with some peanut butter or caramel for apple dip!! huge hit every time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Firth, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moreland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States