Cherry Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I set my cream cheese out for a bit so it could soften before using it. I also used fresh lemon juice, homemade graham crust and homemade cherry pie filling. I had no issues with runny pie, but I did read through the reviews before making it. I think that really whipping the cream cheese and milk together makes a difference as well as using fresh lemon juice. We all enjoyed this. It reminds me of a key lime pie I make from this site, texture-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Hubby says 4 stars. Pretty good. I froze the pie after I made it and let it defrost in the fridge to prevent the runny mess. It did help some. Overall good recipe but next time I will use lemon flavoring instead of the juice to prevent the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownsugar

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a good recipe whose real virtue is ease of preparation. I use it when I need a treat for a group, like work or a club meeting, and I don't feel like cooking. There are never any leftovers. Be sure to follow directions and put topping on at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Doesn't get much better than this " My Professor Chef Bob "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've been making this pie for years...learned it from my mom, who got it from Eagle brand condensed milk years ago. Make no mistake...the lemon juice is ESSENTIAL. The pie won't set up without it! I've found recently it sets up best if I beat the mixture on high for about a minute with the whip attachment on the mixer. So easy! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This had great taste, however when we cut into it after several hours in the fridge, the filling was very runny and did not hold up. If I make this again, I think I would cut the lemon juice back to 1/4 cup to avoid this from happening again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Awesome recipe! Very tasty, slightly on the rich side, but as long as you have a small piece it is fine. I have been making this for years, my mother introduced me to it. A quick tip if you are having trouble with it setting: are you using fresh lemon juice or from a bottle? I have made it twice with lemon juice from a bottle and it did not set correctly. All the other times I made it with fresh lemon juice it has turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I've made this recipe for many years for Thanksgiving and Easter. It always gets requested. I always like to add one or 2 extra cream cheese pkgs to thicken it up and its creamier like that too! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was very good. I am giving 5 stars not just for flavor but also for simplicity. I followed the recipe precisely and didn't have any problems. The only thing I did differently was put it in a 9x9 baking dish and thought it was a better system since it seemed more like a "dessert" rather than a pie, and since it is so rich it is easier to cut/serve smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
We call this pie a "Cherry-Oh-My Pie". It is a tradition for birthdays and holidays in our family. It's best in a graham cracker crust. Be sure to mix well the milk and cream cheese before adding the lemon juice and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States