Cherry Cheese Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I'm giving it a 4 star because it is easy and after 36 hours, it did have a nice, firm, creamy, consistency... a bit too much lemon flavoring for me, the batter was still very loose and puddding-like, even after 18 hours of refrigeration...good thing I had made this 2 days before it was eaten. This is the exact same recipe as a few others on this site..(cherry cheese pie, for one), and I had read a review for one of them that suggested decreasing the lemon and increasing the cream cheese. If I ever make this recipe again, that's what I'll do..4 oz more cream cheese, and use only 1/4 cup of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I've been making this pie for at least 30 years and it is always a hit. There are always requests for this pie on the holidays. I use one can of cherry pie filling for two pies and it is plenty. Leave about an inch wide strip around the outer edge of pie uncoverd with the cherries and it makes a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My oldest son and I made this pie together. I made the graham cracker crust from scratch and we used reduced fat cream cheese in the filling. Though it looked pretty and set up perfectly, it wasn't a huge hit. My husband politely asked me not to make this pie again. It's not the recipe's fault, just a personal family preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Setting Issue***KNOX GELATIN...will correct problem. I've done this for years. Into your 1/3 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice, mix in 2 tsp. of Knox (unflavored) Gelatin. Note**Strain your juice or break the pulp. Let stand 1 minute before incorporating into cheese/milk mixture. No need to reduce lemon juice (if you think to much liquid) nor add more cream cheese. For me--adding more cheese cuts into the other flavors. If you reduce your lemon juice to half...use maybe 1/2 - 1 tsp of Knox. Either way let stand 1 minute before use. It will thicken (swell) but don't worry--use it. I prefer sweetened strawberries or frozen cherries mixed with sugar. I don't use cherry filling anymore. Never really cared for it but when I did use it, I believed it aided in filling not setting like I would have liked. I also think that 'cherry goo' is too heavy (weight) & wet for a cream pie. For this reason I thought it made for a poor 'potluck' pie because after cutting it started looking unappetizing later. Mine was never 'runny' or 'soupy' but I always thought it could be bit firmer without sacrificing taste & texture. The recipe is good. Always has been but Knox WILL give a firm, CREAMY, clean slice of pie. TRUST me. As long as you don't use too much, it will not be 'gelatinous' in texture but creamy. Yes, I know it's pretty with the topping covering pie but try spooning over individual slices instead. This will prevent a 'sagging' pie. Firmer, better looking...tasty. Now it's a potluck pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Delicious! Perfect for summer bbqs! I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, but "toasted" the graham cracker crust slightly in the oven (5 minutes or so @ 350ish) to give the crust a little more stiffness so it doesn't soften as easily when the filling is added and sits overnight. I also have no issues with it chilling for only 3 hours. The texture is supposed to be creamy and smooth... not firm. The pie may fall apart when cutting it, but that's to be expected from a pie like this. I highly recommend topping it with fresh sliced strawberries... that's our favorite and looks gorgeous too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Great recipe to make on hot days when you don't want to use the oven. Best to beat the cream cheese and condensed milk for a few minutes (3-5 minutes) to ensure creaminess. Also beat 3-5 minutes after adding lemon and vanilla. Top with favorite fruit topping or serve plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
Family loved it, easy to make and delicious! Took longer than three hours to set, though. Took overnite but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
easy and delicious dessert! I used a low-fat graham cracker crust, low fat cream cheese, fat free sweetened condensed milk and lite cherry pie filling and it still came out very tasty - my husband didn't suspect anything about it was "low fat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This is an old favorite, a tried and true recipe of mine and my family. We used to call it 'Cherry-O-Cream Pie'. I would recommend getting the best possible gram cracker crust for this, or make your own. But highly recommended, easy, fast, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Added a teaspoon of Cinnamon and it enhanced the pie no end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTAHTEX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States