Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Good dough, but it was too heavy and I felt like the taste of the cherries was too hidden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was amazing. I was a little doubtful while making it, but everybody loved it and my dad ate most of it. Everyone's asking me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I liked this a lot. It's like a cherry muffin if you don't use the sauce but I like to put the sauce on and let it sit for about 10 mins to soak in and then eat it. Soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Pretty good. I baked the cake in 8-inch pan (3 inches deep) and it turned out not very tall, so I suspect that it would have made a VERY flat 9-inch square cake. I wish the recipe specified the weight of cherries rather than the volume. I used an entire 16-oz package of frozen cherries, which measured one and a half cups after halving and thawing; seems like a lot of cherries since that package of frozen cherries measures almost three cups when frozen. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Top notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This cake was a really yummy way to use our fresh sour cherries. I did add some extra sugar to the cherries. Next time I will also chop/blend the cherries for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This cake recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I used Door County, WI, sour cherries, from frozen. It turned out perfect - with a moist, somewhat dense texture that shouts 'NOT CAKE MIX!' I made a cream cheese cherry frosting using the reserved juice, rather than the cherry sauce. Delish! Going in my permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made this twice, once for coworkers and once at home. I thought the cake itself tasted like baking powder and wasn't very exciting. There was nothing wrong with it but it wasn't very good either. Probably won't make thisagain, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Fantastic cake! Super moist. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe! I did make some minor changes by using butter instead of shortening, pecans instead of walnuts, and omitted the food coloring. My husband couldn't stop eating it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States