Cherry Bourbon Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
THESE ARE AWESOME!! Made them for the first time late last night for a cookie exchange. I used bacardi rum and also chopped up the candied cherries and added them to the mix (used a few more than 24) Ohterwise, I kept the recipe the same. Technically, the balls aren't going to be put out till xmas eve, but couldn't resist trying a "few" at my friend's house today. YUM YUM:) I bet these would be good rolled in cocunut too, or add it in the mix perhaps?? This recipe is so good and easy that it makes it very easy to adapt to individual preferences- but seriously, if you make "as is" you will NOT be disappointed:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very yummy!! Like some of the other reviewers, I chopped up the cherries and put in the main mix instead of just in the center. This will become a holiday regular of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this for Christmas, and it was great! Everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These were great...went very fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I had trouble at first rolling into balls. The mixture was too gooey. I added about 1/8 cup of confectioners sugar too the mix and that helped alot. I also took hints from several reviews. I soaked my cherries in Captain Morgan Rum. I used the rum from the cherries in the recipe and I chopped my cherries pretty fine and just mixed it all together. The mixture got easier to roll the cooler it got. I ended up just rolling the balls in sugar first then making the balls and then rolling in sugar again...not really to much extra work. My goodness, but these are the BEST I have ever made. This recipe is definately going into my Christmas candy recipe box! The would also be wonderfuls at weddings, bridal showers, etc...FANTASTIC. For the lady that said these were too strong...try a "virgin" variety and simply leave out the rum, or try them with rum flavoring from the grocery stroe and just don't add as much.I think they would be just as yummy! GREAT RECIPE!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I made these and successfully set them aside for a full week. Just amazing; I can't say enough about the final outcome. The texture and medley of flavors is incredible. A new holiday tradition for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My mother used to make these for Christmas. Never with the cherries. What a nice addition. I will make these every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Great recipe!! I only changed one thing. I soaked the cherries in bourbon for a few days, before making these. OMG...loaded cherries! Great variation on an old classic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I made these before but really modified the recipe. This time I made these 'as is' and really enjoyed them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I used Captain Morgan Rum and maraschino cherries(chopped up and added to batter). These were so good, I don't know if they can sit for a week!! Great recipe, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States