Cherry Bomb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Very light, crisp, and refreshing! Great for sipping on the patio on a warm summer evening. I really liked these. My hubby said they tasted just like cherry seven up and he wasn't too impressed because he thinks they need more rum and he added more rum to his glass anyway. He gave these 3 stars, before he doctored them with more rum but I thought they were a perfect 5. I couldn't find lime soda, used Sprite instead. I used Cruzan Estate light rum. This was not too strong for me at all, and I am really picky. If I can smell alcohol, I complain it's too strong, so when I like a drink, I know it is a good one!This is a grown up Shirley Temple. Very very good! I will keep this in my file, it is definitely worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I personally thought this looked and tasted like cough syrup. However, the people I served it to both told me they liked it. I would use less grenadine and more soda if I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I'm trying out different drinks to make for my company this weekend and this was really, really good. A bit sweet for me but I know my guests will love this. Hey Josie girl, whatcha doin' drinkin' the hard stuff??!! If the baby started dancing, I hope she's enjoying it!! Anyway, terrific drink Tony and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Yep - this was tasty. I love cherry limeades...especially from Sonic, but there's no Sonic within a reasonable distance around here so I always make my own. I juiced 2 limes since I like a sour taste and went easy on the rum...I didn't want to see double! I added some of the cherry juice which really sent this over the top. Will keep this drink in mind for summer. Thanks a bunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This tastes EXACTLY like a cherry limeade ( & I'm an expert on the subject!) I did cut wayyy back on the grenadine...I don't think it needs more than an ounce & a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Yum! A "Shirley Temple" for grownups, who wouldn't love that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
we had a big bottle of rum... and i was never too fond of rum until i found this recipe. i used diet 7up because i couldn't find just lime soda. also when i don't have fresh limes i just use a little lime juice... i also make mine with just a splash of grenadine in each glass, 4 oz was way too sweet for me. i definitely have all the ingredients on hand for when company comes over, so easy to make and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie von Schepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This is so good! You really can't taste the rum at all. The flavor is really yummy and fruity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Yum! Made this over the weekend of the Fourth and used Sierra Mist soda, which would be the only thing I change for the next time - that soda tends to taste flat sooner than most. I actually took the cherries and marinated them in vodka prior to garnishing the drinks with them. Everyone got a nice POP once they were to the end of the drink. I also halved the amount of grenadine per the advice of others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is a nice summery drink, but as written it is waaaay too sweet (and I like sweet drinks!). I recommend halving the amount of grenadine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States