Cherry Bomb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Absolutely amazing!!! I must admit I was scared of the habanero peppers so I substituted with jalapenos...BUT next time I am making exactly as the recipe says. Definitely making this again, and again, and again!!!! UPDATE: Remade with the habanero peppers, DELICIOUS!! Don't change a thing. Also, if you have questions watch Chef John's video on this recipe...it is extremely helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
The PERFECT bbq chicken! I had never tried to grill chicken before, so I was nervous. It turned out amazing, and all 3 people I made dinner for told me it was the best bbq chicken they had ever had! Next time I make it (which will be soon), I am thinking about adding some fresh pineapple to the brine. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karalb88

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
OMG OMG OMG - made this chicken yesterday and it was amazing. Can't stop thinking about it - may have to make it again today. Chef John I love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Delicious! I always brine my chicken. I usually just use beer and salt, but this adds extra flavor. UPDATE: I have made this a couple of times now, and the frist time I made as is and the second time I only used 3 1/2 TBSP of salt and marinated it over night, the flavor was much better and less salty as the original recipe. Do use gloves when handling the habanero peppers and make sure to dry the chicken well before grilling, that way the skin will crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
The magic of brining is exactly right, well done Chef John. This is so moist and flavorful, the only change I made was to use a whole chicken split in half and weigh the chicken down with tinfoil covered bricks while grilling. The extra weight flattens the chicken for better grill marks and a more even cooking surface. Thanks for the Cherry BOMB Chicken, BTW...if you have leftovers, pull the chicken and add a little bbq sauce for an awesome bbq chicken on a bun meal completed with beans and slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RustyDuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheshire, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
No need to repeat what's already been said. An excellent recipe for moist and delicious chicken. It was actually quite simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Just when I thought there wasn't another chicken recipes I could try............THIS is my absolute favorite above all others. My husband loved it, also. The only thing I think I'll try is doubling the glaze before grilling.......SO good - need even more! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was some good chicken! I couldn't get habanero peppers this week at the store so used a different chili pepper but I'm not sure it made a difference. Otherwise followed the instructions exactly and this is really the best chicken I've ever had off the barbecue. A little bit of extra effort but so worth it! Thanks for posting this and providing the video. Gave me lots of confidence that I could make this dish successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This chicken has the BEST flavor! We used chicken drumsticks with the skin on and also boneless skinless chicken breasts. They were both excellent! We also tried it with and without the sweet chili sauce and my husband and I both liked it better without it. We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This recipe is the bomb, literally! I marinated the chicken for about 8 hours- 4 breasts on the bone (skin on) along with 2 thighs (skin on) and followed the directions exactly. The chicken had such an amazing flavor and was so juicy. Don't be afraid to use 3 Habanero peppers in the marinade - however, DO use gloves while handling to remove the seeds. Look for fresh, flavorful cherry tomatoes – it makes a difference. I followed the instructions in the video and used Red Pepper Jelly on top at the end. My dinner guests raved about the chicken. Will definitely make again! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States