Cherry Bomb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Absolutely amazing!!! I must admit I was scared of the habanero peppers so I substituted with jalapenos...BUT next time I am making exactly as the recipe says. Definitely making this again, and again, and again!!!! UPDATE: Remade with the habanero peppers, DELICIOUS!! Don't change a thing. Also, if you have questions watch Chef John's video on this recipe...it is extremely helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Delicious! I always brine my chicken. I usually just use beer and salt, but this adds extra flavor. UPDATE: I have made this a couple of times now, and the frist time I made as is and the second time I only used 3 1/2 TBSP of salt and marinated it over night, the flavor was much better and less salty as the original recipe. Do use gloves when handling the habanero peppers and make sure to dry the chicken well before grilling, that way the skin will crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
The PERFECT bbq chicken! I had never tried to grill chicken before, so I was nervous. It turned out amazing, and all 3 people I made dinner for told me it was the best bbq chicken they had ever had! Next time I make it (which will be soon), I am thinking about adding some fresh pineapple to the brine. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karalb88

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
OMG OMG OMG - made this chicken yesterday and it was amazing. Can't stop thinking about it - may have to make it again today. Chef John I love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
The magic of brining is exactly right, well done Chef John. This is so moist and flavorful, the only change I made was to use a whole chicken split in half and weigh the chicken down with tinfoil covered bricks while grilling. The extra weight flattens the chicken for better grill marks and a more even cooking surface. Thanks for the Cherry BOMB Chicken, BTW...if you have leftovers, pull the chicken and add a little bbq sauce for an awesome bbq chicken on a bun meal completed with beans and slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RustyDuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheshire, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Great recipe! I used 4 chicken breasts instead and wasn't up to firing up the grill so I baked them instead. 450 degree oven 35-40 min depending on the thickness of your chicken. Another tip that I always use is to place a wire rack in my roasting pan. This elevates the chicken for better circulation and produces crispier skin. I am always on the look out for great brine recipes and this one qualifies. Love the allspice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
No need to repeat what's already been said. An excellent recipe for moist and delicious chicken. It was actually quite simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This chicken has the BEST flavor! We used chicken drumsticks with the skin on and also boneless skinless chicken breasts. They were both excellent! We also tried it with and without the sweet chili sauce and my husband and I both liked it better without it. We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Just when I thought there wasn't another chicken recipes I could try............THIS is my absolute favorite above all others. My husband loved it, also. The only thing I think I'll try is doubling the glaze before grilling.......SO good - need even more! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
For those of you afraid of the habanero, don't be! The sugar in the brine will reduce the heat of the habanero but will leave its distinctly unique flavor. One of the best pepper jellies that I make is a Habanero Jelly, which I absolutely cannot get HOT because of the sugar counteracting and reducing the heat of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States