Cherry-Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This pie is amazing! I actually prepared it a couple months ago-minus the egg white and suger on top and froze it-took it out of the freezer today, added the egg and suger and popped it in the oven on 350 for about 70 minutes, Everyone LOVED it!! I'm actually planning on making at least 2 more(this week) to stick in the freezer for when i need a good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STAR6443
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Everyone LOVED the flavors mixed and the pie was a huge success. I doubled the recipe, added a 1/3 c more sugar and 4 tablespoons of butter in single T pats on top of the filling before covering with top shell(something my grandmother always did) and used a very deep dish pie pan saving back about 1/2 cup of filling, pie did over flow a bit but somehow it just wouldn't be berry pie if it didn't over flow. I always cook on an old cookie sheet. I also had to increase the cooking time, starting at 425 for about 15 minutes then 350 for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAR6443

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Volant, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cassadaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I remembered the recipe wrong when I went to the store and got blueberry pie filling. I "washed" the filling part off in a collander and just used the blueberries left over. Also, I don't own a pastry brush so I used my husband's grill, baster brush to apply the egg wash. I also over cooked it. Regardless of what I did it still came out great. The cherries make it sweet and the blueberries give it a tartness. Oh yeah, I also used premade pie shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I absolutely would! This was so delicious! I had a lot of fresh blueberries given to me and I was looking up recipes to use them in and this is the first one I tried. This is also the first fruit pie I have ever made. I just subsituted the fresh blueberries in place of the frozen. I did use a 12 oz. frozen pie crust instead of a 15 oz. refrigerated pie crust. I don't think it really made to much of a difference. The eggwhites brushed on and then sprinkled with sugar made it taste amazing. I did put tin foil over the edges so they wouldn't burn. The blueberries and the cherries mixed together tasted so good! I topped my piece with whipped cream and my fiance had vanilla ice cream with his. But it would be delicious by itself! I still have a ton of blueberries left and a lot of different recipes to try out but I plan to make this again soon! ::UPDATE:: I ended up freezing a lot of the fresh blueberries I had this summer. I have made this pie several times using fresh and several times using the same blueberries frozen. Even though the pie is delicious both ways it is better using the frozen blueberries! When using the frozen -you don't loose the blueberry taste to the cherry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Turned out perfectly. I used fresh instead of frozen and added about 1 more cup and it turned out great! Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I got raves for this pie at Thanksgiving, especially from people who were not big cherry pie fans. I guess the blueberries tempered the flavor of the cherries. I hated to tell how easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I used this recipe for a pie auction at church so didn't have a chance to try it. After it was sold it was cut and everyone who tried it wanted the recipe. I have since baked one for us and it is without a doubt the best pie I have ever tried - and the easiest. I did substitute a large can of pie filling and removed about half the filling part. Used all the cherries. Scant two cups of blueberries. Also used 1/4 cup Splenda for Baking instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Baffled here. There is no way to keep this pie baking for up to 55 minutes in a hot 425 degree oven, unless folks like a black-looking pie. The edges of the crust were VERY done at 30 minutes. Waited another 5 minutes and got super dark look due the egg/sugar mixture burning on top while the frozen blueberries kept the inside cold and yukky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
WOW! This pie was not only easy, easy, easy but was one of the best tasting pies I have ever made. I made my own crust (since I do not like store bought). I used lite cherry pie filling and it was just about the right sweetness. Since I used lite pie filling I could splurge with putting ice cream on top of my piece. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I am not very good with fruit pies but wow, this was very good and fairly easy to make. I used frozen mixed berries and it was perfect. This didn't last! A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States