Cherry-Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe rocks!! I don't usually comment on recipes when I haven't cooked them, at least once, according to the directions. But after reading the recipe and the reviews, I knew this was a winner and would work with my new 'goal'. I've made myself a pledge to only purchase absolute necessities until I empty my pantry and freezer -- before I start putting up and preserving new things. Even though I had to finagle things, it came out soooo good! I used the pie filling and 3.5 cups of blueberries as well as a can of well drained, tart cherries. I added a splash of lemon and sugar/stevia blend. I pre-baked the bottom crust at 425 for 12 min. then let it cool. I only had about 2/3 of a top crust as I had previously invaded my stash. So I used cookie cutters to cut out rabbit and egg shapes to decorate my Easter dessert. I topped them with colored sugar. Since my pie was deep dish I got most of the filling in but I goofed and forgot to add the cornstarch . . .oh well. I froze the leftover filling to add to coffee cake. I shielded the crust and baked it at 425 for 10 minutes and then cut it down to 350 for the rest of the time. Was it a little runny? Yep- my fault. It was still delicious! Now, one question. Hopefully no one is using strips of foil to shield their crust? It's a lot easier to cut a foil circle 1 in. larger than the pan, fold it into quarters and cut out the center. You end up with a hoop shape that you just drop on and tuck under. THANK YOU April!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made this today with Hot Water Pie Crust II recipe from this site and it was superb. Followed the recipe except baked it at 350 for 60 minutes. Not too tart or too sweet. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was delicious, just the right amount of sweet and tangy! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great pie! I made my own cherry pie filling from Ranier cherries I vacuum froze this summer when they were in season...also used my own vacuum frozen blueberries. Might as well make a double recipe...You will want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I'm not a big fan of cherry pie, so I was hesitant to try this but it was very tasty and came out beautifully! However, I did not follow the recipe 100%. First off, I used fresh blueberries (if you have access to fresh blueberries, use them instead!) - also, I baked at 425 for 15 minutes, then 350 for the rest (35-45 minutes). Do NOT bake the pie at the high temperature for the entire time. Make sure to cover the edges of the crust with aluminum foil to avoid burning (remove during last 10-15 minutes of baking), and place a cookie sheet under the pie for spillage (I used a normal 9" pie dish and only a few droplets overflowed). The pie came out beautifully and was a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Amazing. Easy. And Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boulder24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious!!!!!!!!!! My family loved it!!! I omitted the cinnamon-they are not fans of it, and doubled the filling. A new tradition for us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I do not even like fruit pies but I would eat this one again and again. It's the best fruit pie I've ever made or had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I am only giving this four stars since I would have added more corn starch. I did increase the blueberries to two cups so I should have thought to add additional corn starch as well. I made this the day before my dinner and it was still too runny, but tasted fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Best. Pie. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States