Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
DElicious! Follow recipe exactly. I made my own cherry filling however using fresh sweet cherries simmer with sugar water and added gelatin (very simple, recommend using this as a topping/filling for anything!) The batter baked perfectly and the almond flavoring of the icing and batter are SUCH a nice compliment to the cherries! In love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I prefer my recipe which is nearly the same. Only difference is I use 1 tsp almond extract, only one can of pie filling and NO icing. Icing makes them sickeningly sweet and I love the extra almond flavor. Using only one can of filling makes them easier to eat, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydogclyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Made half of the original yield. Fortunately, in a 9x13 pan, this recipe DOES NOT need any time adjustments for smaller portions. One word to describe this: fantastic. Despite all doubts, this recipe is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for. My mom used to make these when I was a kid...this recipe is just as delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe and used a 10x15 pan, and 35 minutes was no where near enough cooking time. The inside was a runny mess, and you can't trust the toothpick test because those appeared to come out clean. I think an hour is more like it, but you'll have to cover the pan to keep the top from over-browning. I used fresh pie cherries boiled with corn starch and sugar for the filling - their tartness was great. Didn't have almond extract, so substituted some rum extract, and it was very good with the other flavors. I think the recipe makes way, way more glaze than you need - the amount almost totally covered the bars but this is already very sweet. Overall, pretty delicious, but definitely two pans or much longer in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These are so good with or without the icing. The taste reminds me of a danish you would get at the bakery. I only used 1 can of the fruit and found that to be just right for my taste. Made these to share at our town meeting and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Made this (without altering it) last year for the county fair and got a blue ribbon! Great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKEYROB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Delightful...I usually use 1 1/2 cans of cherry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States