Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My family loves this recipe. I make thus whenever we get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
DElicious! Follow recipe exactly. I made my own cherry filling however using fresh sweet cherries simmer with sugar water and added gelatin (very simple, recommend using this as a topping/filling for anything!) The batter baked perfectly and the almond flavoring of the icing and batter are SUCH a nice compliment to the cherries! In love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I prefer my recipe which is nearly the same. Only difference is I use 1 tsp almond extract, only one can of pie filling and NO icing. Icing makes them sickeningly sweet and I love the extra almond flavor. Using only one can of filling makes them easier to eat, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydogclyde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Made half of the original yield. Fortunately, in a 9x13 pan, this recipe DOES NOT need any time adjustments for smaller portions. One word to describe this: fantastic. Despite all doubts, this recipe is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for. My mom used to make these when I was a kid...this recipe is just as delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe and used a 10x15 pan, and 35 minutes was no where near enough cooking time. The inside was a runny mess, and you can't trust the toothpick test because those appeared to come out clean. I think an hour is more like it, but you'll have to cover the pan to keep the top from over-browning. I used fresh pie cherries boiled with corn starch and sugar for the filling - their tartness was great. Didn't have almond extract, so substituted some rum extract, and it was very good with the other flavors. I think the recipe makes way, way more glaze than you need - the amount almost totally covered the bars but this is already very sweet. Overall, pretty delicious, but definitely two pans or much longer in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These are so good with or without the icing. The taste reminds me of a danish you would get at the bakery. I only used 1 can of the fruit and found that to be just right for my taste. Made these to share at our town meeting and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Made this (without altering it) last year for the county fair and got a blue ribbon! Great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKEYROB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States