Cherry and Raisin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've made this recipe 4 times. Once I made it exactly as written, next time I added chocolate chips. It was good, but a bit heavy, and the fruit was mostly at the bottom. I've had this problem with other recipes in my machine. The third time I used the dough setting, punched it down and kneaded in the fruit by hand, let it rise and baked it for 30 min. at 350. It was light and fluffy and delicious. I did the same thing the next time, but added chocolate chips. This is now my favorite breakfast bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I gave this one a try today. Its very tasty and I love the texture. I never tried a fruit bread before. Next time I will mix the raisins and cherries into the dough myself outside of the machine. Very little of the fruit made it to the interior. They were mostly stuck on the outside and fell off when I took the bread out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATE9980
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as written and I thought it was very good. However, the next time I make it, I will add more brown sugar and more cinnamon. I may even add more cherries or raisins. Overall, this is a pretty good recipe...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
All purpose flour works great! Don't need to go out and buy "bread flour" if you don't already have it. I've made this recipe 2x now. The first time I got busy and forgot to add the raisins and cherries. But it was still really great. We ate it that time with peanut butter and jelly. This one is definitely a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Nice texture, I used golden raisins, walnuts, and pecans. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
My family LOVED this bread! I used 3/4 cup of dried cherries and didn't use any raisins. I also tripled the brown sugar and added extra cinnamon. I used a little extra milk to make up for using more dry ingredients. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The measurements for cherries, raisins, and cinnamon are good. The bread recipe itself is mediocre - dry interior, thick but not flaky crust. I'll use these flavorings in these proportions in a better bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
We tried another similar recipe, but the bread was too dense. This was perfect. Very light. I just used a 6 oz. package of goldens and cherries from Sunmaid, and it was perfect. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELTTEACH

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Tasty! And lovely texture. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States