Cherry Almond Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This sold well at the bake sale this week. I also used cheery juice to make the glaze and sprinkled sliced almonds on the top to make it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This disappeared quickly at a family Easter dinner today. I thought this would be a dense cake, but it was actually light and moist (which I liked). I will bake it in a sheet pan next time & cut in small squares. For the glaze, I used some juice from a jar of cherries rather than water. The juice made it a pretty pink color. Since it was for Easter, I sprinkled the cake with coconut and decorated with some jellybeans. Thanks for sharing your yummy & easy recipe, Randy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I needed a quick dessert today using a random box cherry chip cake mix I had in my pantry. I made my own cherry pie filling from two cans of dark cherries I had in my pantry (bought cheap last week for .99 a can at Grocery Outlet) with water, lemon juice, sugar, a bit of vanilla extract and cornstarch. When I made the glaze, I added a tablespoon of butter and a pinch of salt, just like Grandma taught me for a quick glaze. I was able to use a boxed cake mix I had for a while that I really wanted to jazz up and two cheap cans of cherries, which helps me in the long run when we move in a couple months. I appreciate you sharing your dessert, Randy. This was great with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Next time, I might take Lilcat's suggestion and use either grenadine or marachino cherry juice to make the glaze instead of almond extract. I think that's a fabulous idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this recipe as it is. My husband ate three pieces of this just as soon as it was cooled off. He LOVED it. I will definitely be making this again, also brought some into work and it was devoured that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Yummy! This was very simple to make and my family loved it! It was a lot lighter than I expected and it wasn't overly sweet either which was very nice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I am giving this 5 stars because it was so, so easy. I didn't use the glaze because I didn't think it needed it. Next time I will try the strawberry cake mix and strawberry pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was just OK for me. I personally think a boxed plain cherry chip cake is better than this! sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this cake and cooked it in a bundt pan. It came out beautifully. I pureed the cherry and cut down on the water. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very difficult to find cherry cake mix. Used strawberry cake mix instead. Next I will try a white cake mix and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States