Cherry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. My office asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franci Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tracyljohnson
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
As others have noted, this is a good basic recipe that can be modified to fit what you have in your kitchen! I had sour cream and fresh cherries to use and found this recipe. Instead of canned cherries, I used the fresh cherries I had (pitting them took the most time of all to complete this). I used light sour cream and walnuts, instead of almonds because that's what I had. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract in the icing and skipped the dash of oil. As a quick cake, when you don't have time to start from scratch, this is great. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
i messed this one up by using fat free sour cream, all egg whites, and a light cake mix. i don't think there was enough fat to hold it all together - it took especially long to cook, and even so only the outside edges were done when we cut into it, and the middle was soup. obviously my fault, but to anyone else in an endless quest to lighten up dessert, there must be sommmmme fat in this recipe for it to work! the edges were yummy though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was very easy to make! I made it for Christmas morning to go with a breakfast casserole and yogurt & fresh fruit parfaits. While it was good, I found it a bit too sweet as a coffee cake. It would be good in a pinch in the future but not sure I would elect to make it on a regular bases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Hubs wanted me to make something for his fishing buddies. I was short on time and this recipe looked like it would be a snap to put together, and it was. I made half the recipe using an 11x7” baking pan, which worked quite well. I intended to put some vanilla in the batter but forgot. I swirled the cherry pie filling into the batter and also sprinkled the almonds on top before baking so they would adhere better. I made the glaze subbing a little light corn syrup for the vegetable oil. Hubs said his buddies loved it, so that must mean five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goose1128
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is my go to recipe to feed a crowd something DELICIOUS and easy! I used apple pie filling this time and a splash of almond extract in the glaze. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was an okay dessert. Only change I made was to use apple pie filling instead of cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My husband called this recipe a "home run" after just one bite. Unfortunately I didn't have all the ingredients, so I had to replace some ingredients with what I had on hand (and I wanted to lighten it up a little). My changes were to use a yellow cake mix, subsistute the sour cream with non fat greek yogurt, 3 eggs for 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites, add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the cake mixture and a 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract to the glaze. I didn't bother adding a crumb topping as suggested by some reviewers and it really didn't need it. I'm looking forward to making this again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
After seeing the rave reviews I decided to give this a shot. Honestly, it tasted just like what it is- cake mix and canned fruit pie filling. It looked nice but it was really nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States