Cherry Almond Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made this according to the recipe, without modification, except that I could not find sour cherries at my grocery store, so I used a can of sweet cherries instead. I expected the cherries to stay intact in this recipe, but instead they were mashed in the kneading, so there were no chunks of cherry in the final bread; rather they were incorporated into the bread. The bread came out exceedingly dense; it felt like a brick when it came out of the pan. But even worse--it did not bake all the way through. The flavor was ok, not as cherry-ish nor as almondy as I was expecting and hoped for. I ate a couple slices of this toasted with butter for breakfast, but I got to the middle of the loaf and realized it wasn't cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beekeebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
It's a good start, but I agree that it needs work. The texture was really chewy and pleasing. It was hard for me because I don't have a bread machine, so I had to guess about cooking time/temp and it came out kind of dark on top. Also, I mixed with my cuisenart and the cherries got totally pulverized, so when I make it again (I will make it again) I might throw in some dried cherries, so we can get those bursts of cherry flavor. Anyway, I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This tasted like plain old white bread. No cherry taste detected, almonds really didn't add any new dimension to the bread. We ate it as sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
What a disappointment! Neither the cherry nor the almond flavor was identifiable in this bread and it had just a vague sort of sweetish flavor. The color was unattractive as well. The only good thing I can say about it is that it had a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was another one that turned into a surprise for me...I changed due to what I had...no gluten,and only a 15 oz can pitted dark bing cherries and pecan "chips" maybe 1/2 cups worth.Set on the sweet bread cycle...and it wasn't looking very promising at all...but I decided to let it go and sure enough,by what ended up seeming like a freak accident it right at the end raised up into a beautiful loaf or bread while on the bake cycly and tasted fantastic!I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
The only thing is, you can't drain your cherries. The dough has to have some liquid and the cherry juice will do that for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
The dough was extremely dry since there was no liquid, BUT with the addition of 3/4 to 1 cup of water the bread turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
love the cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States