Cherries in the Snow Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Wonderful cake!!!! The vanilla pudding was a unique idea as icing. I made this cake yesterday and I made the yellow cake mix from scratch using cake flour. I have been on a cake flour kick in all of my cakes lately and found an easy recipe for making cake flour. It's cheaper and more delicious way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
AMAZING! i made a few adjustments to make this cake less fattening, and it turned out soooo well, i cannot say enough about it. instead of oil, i subbed cherry yogurt in the cake mix, and used the water and eggs as directed. the cake wasstill incredibly moist and the cherry added extra flavor. i used fat free sugar free pudding and sugar free pie filling. i could have eaten half the pan in one sitting it is that good!! definitely try this recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this cake tonight and just finished having some. Wow! It was delicious. All three of us had second helpings. I thought the cherries might turn the cake too sour, but the combination of the vanilla pudding and yellow cake with the cherries was perfect. Do make sure you use the pan size specified. Mine was too small, so once the cake was cooled, I put it on a cookie sheet and then added the toppings. Absolutely delicious!! I definitely will make this again. I doubt the leftovers will last very long! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This recipe was super easy...and super good! I shared it with some friends who also thought it was amazing :o) It is an easy way to add a little "oomph" to a simple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because I haven't tried it with cake. I made it with brownies and it was AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Unique twist for something to do with cake mix. Great for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is a very quick, easy to make & great tasting cake to make when you have little time to make something more elaborate. I used cherry chip cake mix which was delish. I also added some cool whip to the vanilla pudding mix. One word of advise I used an 8x12 pan which isn't large enough. There wasn't enough room to use all the pudding mix without spilling over the sides! I would try making this again possibly with chocolate cake..umm choc cake with cherries:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fun, cheap dessert for family that begs for sweets but you have little to nothing on hand. I used a low-sugar cake mix made with a can of diet lemon lime soda (something I learned years ago through Weight Watchers), sugar-free cheesecake flavored pudding (made with fat free evaporated milk) and "lite" cherry pie filling. Honest to God, my husband has eaten half of this already. He says it's really yummy and I'm evil to have made it. Double bonus because I've 1) made my husband something sweet with little effort and 2) I've cleaned out my pantry. YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This cake is delicious! Not being a fan of instant pudding, I opted to use Cook & Serve instead. My guests loved it and came back for more. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinteacher
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was great. The kids and hubby were fighting over it. If you really like cherries use 2 cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States