Chele's Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
The green onions and parmesan definitely gave this halibut a very nice pleasing flavor but there really was no point to adding the dried dill. Dill has little or no flavor after being cooked for that long a period of time and especially so when using dried dill. I suggest using two or three pinches of chopped fresh dill weed instead. Also, a word of caution about placing a baking dish under a broiler and especially if it's Pyrex brand because they often cannot withstand that high of heat and will shatter even if it had already been at oven temperatures. I learned that first hand and felt like a fool when reading the bottom of my other Pyrex baking dish afterwards; "No Stove Top - No Broiler". It took not only losing a baking dish but also all the yummy food that was in it :-( ********** I am adding an answer to RckyMtnGirl's question of how someone could have originally rated this recipe on March 3rd but she didn't see the recipe posted until March 6th. Well, it was originally posted early Saturday morning of the 3rd and I tried it that afternoon ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Okay so Halibut is hard to find right now so I subbed cod. Also after reading the reminder that Pyrex should not be broiled I decided to just add the parm right into the sauce and not broil it at all. I also added more dill. It was amazing. So good that I am making it again tonight and will add afew scallops to try. Thank you for sharing your friend's recipe. I am sorry for your loss and will always make this in her honor. Here's to Chele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
how does someone rate this recipe when it was just posted brand new today, 3/6/12? i don't understand. the recipe sounds wonderful! i can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Awesome! Will make again. P.S., One reviewer said there was no point in using dried dill? You could definitely taste it. In fact, it was a definining flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I dont cook, so when I do, my guy gets a worried look on his face. No worries here, he LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I was in a hurry so didn't measure anything. Substituted plain yogurt for sour cream and only broiled until cheese was melted, not browned (because, again, I was in a hurry!). Anyway, it had a nice flavour with the green onions and parmesan. Our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Absolutely loved it. Subbed low fat sour cream and parmesean. This will become a standard in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Love this recipe and have used a similar one for years. I use a foil lined broiler pan and then put the halibut w/sauce (I substitute plain yogurt for the sr. crm.)on the broiler rack. That way you can move under the broiler w/no fear of exploding pyrex. Ymmmmy, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KookinwKathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Just delicious. My garden club asked me for the recipe after I made a modified version for them. I used Tilapia, substituted 3/4 cup of lowfat sour cream, and added 1 rounded tablespoon of mayonnaise. I had sweet onion so I used that instead of green, and once it was cooked i sprinkled seasoned Panko breadcrumbs on top, then Parmesan after, and put it under the broiler to brown. OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is really a great recipe. My Whole Foods Supermarket had the Halibut for 28.99 per lb. So I substituted fresh Cod for 10.99 per lb. I seasoned the cod with Penzys lemon pepper, Mrs. Dash original, onion powder, garlic powder and seasoned salt. I did put a pinch of kosher salt in the sour cream sauce as I had to cut back as I sprinkled a little seasoned salt directly on the fish. I took it to church and shared with my friends at Potluck. They loved it. It was delicious. Will be making it again tomorrow. Will definitely make it again with Cod and will try it with Halibut when I'm making it for one or two persons. By the way I used fillets. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I did some modification with the seasonings but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States