Chele's Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
The green onions and parmesan definitely gave this halibut a very nice pleasing flavor but there really was no point to adding the dried dill. Dill has little or no flavor after being cooked for that long a period of time and especially so when using dried dill. I suggest using two or three pinches of chopped fresh dill weed instead. Also, a word of caution about placing a baking dish under a broiler and especially if it's Pyrex brand because they often cannot withstand that high of heat and will shatter even if it had already been at oven temperatures. I learned that first hand and felt like a fool when reading the bottom of my other Pyrex baking dish afterwards; "No Stove Top - No Broiler". It took not only losing a baking dish but also all the yummy food that was in it :-( ********** I am adding an answer to RckyMtnGirl's question of how someone could have originally rated this recipe on March 3rd but she didn't see the recipe posted until March 6th. Well, it was originally posted early Saturday morning of the 3rd and I tried it that afternoon ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
how does someone rate this recipe when it was just posted brand new today, 3/6/12? i don't understand. the recipe sounds wonderful! i can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RckyMtnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Okay so Halibut is hard to find right now so I subbed cod. Also after reading the reminder that Pyrex should not be broiled I decided to just add the parm right into the sauce and not broil it at all. I also added more dill. It was amazing. So good that I am making it again tonight and will add afew scallops to try. Thank you for sharing your friend's recipe. I am sorry for your loss and will always make this in her honor. Here's to Chele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I was in a hurry so didn't measure anything. Substituted plain yogurt for sour cream and only broiled until cheese was melted, not browned (because, again, I was in a hurry!). Anyway, it had a nice flavour with the green onions and parmesan. Our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My husband and I loved this! I had 1 lb. of fresh halibut, and wanted a new recipe. I found this, and because I don't always keep green onions in my fridge, used chopped sweet onions sauted in butter, instead. I also didn't have white pepper, but added a little cayenne pepper. Loved the dill, too. It came out deliciously! Thanks for the recipe, Barbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this tonight and it is absolutely delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Love this recipe and have used a similar one for years. I use a foil lined broiler pan and then put the halibut w/sauce (I substitute plain yogurt for the sr. crm.)on the broiler rack. That way you can move under the broiler w/no fear of exploding pyrex. Ymmmmy, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KookinwKathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Absolutely loved it. Subbed low fat sour cream and parmesean. This will become a standard in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Awesome! Will make again. P.S., One reviewer said there was no point in using dried dill? You could definitely taste it. In fact, it was a definining flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States