Chef John's White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I cannot resist making a comment here. Chef John did a great job presenting this recipe, however, I have to laugh when I read reviews of folks who consider themselves "pro's" and obviously have no concept of the basic "mother sauces" and what goes into them and what they are used for. This recipe is (except for the thyme and cayenne) a very basic Bechamel or White Sauce - I learned this way back in 8th grade home economics class many decades ago and, yes, it does and should have nutmeg in it. You don't just make this and dump it over food and expect that to be it. You must adjust it - add cheddar cheese for a cheese sauce a 'la Mac and Cheese. Add Gruyere and Parmesan to make a Mornay Sauce - great over veggies and even pasta - also used in a Kentucky Hot Brown. There are 4 other Mother or basic sauces in French Cuisine which are the basis of almost all sauces - think Hollandaise (if you've had a yummy plate of Eggs Benedict you've had Hollandaise (a mother sauce) - it's the technique used to make mayonnaise. This is such a basic sauce and can be made thinner or thicker depending on what you want to use it for - just use equal amounts of butter and flour to milk with a dash of nutmeg which enhances the taste of the sauce. More flour and butter equals a thicker sauce. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Couldn't eat it! That's a first from a chef john recipe, but I'm still a chef john fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
For a basic, more versatile white sauce, omit the nutmeg and thyme. (Actually, I’m not sure I’d like that combination. For my tastes it would be either/or) For a thinner white sauce, use 1 T. each of flour and butter. For a thick sauce, 3 T. each of flour and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Thank you so much! I had a basic recipe for white sauce and lost it and couldn't find a good one to replace it. This was exactly what I was looking for. I did add some chopped onion and garlic to the butter and skipped the cayenne since I don't care much for spicy hot food. It turned out perfectly. I can't wait to experiment with other added ingredients and can see several possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was absolutely awesome! I made a vegetarian lasagna but didn't really like the sauce that was with that recipe. So, I went looking for something with a bit more flavor. I found this!! It is really good... it made a bit more than I was expecting so the lasagna was a little overflowing but very flavorful. I don't typically measure spices, so I just dashed until it suited our taste. My husband loved it and he's not a fan of white sauce - and he's a meat-eater so it was high praise - for both the sauce and the lasagna! Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
It is a very nice white sauce. I used it as the base sauce to make it into the mac N cheese recipe that chef John made with the no-bake topping. It was really a gourmet mac in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I skipped the thyme in this recipe. I browned some chopped onion and fresh minced garlic in the butter before adding the flour. After the sauce was made, I added some ground mustard and a touch of hot sauce. I used the white sauce as a base for homemade macaroni and cheese. It worked out great--perfect thickness and held up well during the whole cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This turned out good-but made alot so I had to throw out the rest..I used this sauce for my macaroni and cheese dish and my son loved it...A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a great, basic sauce! I followed the recipe up until the cayenne pepper, thyme, and nutmeg. Instead of adding those, I replaced them with 2 cloves of fresh garlic (minced) and maybe 1/2 teaspoon or so of dried oregano (I didn't really measure it :-)). I used this recipe to top some pasta and grilled chicken marinated with a simple Italian marinade -- absolutely delicious!! Also, I have used this recipe with the chicken, pasta, and also small bits of steamed broccoli. Thanks for a great recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chef John's Mayo Method Steak Sauce

Discover the formula for delicious, last-minute steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States