Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
there is a authentic greek resturant in town and this recipe tasts JUST LIKE IT ! this is the best and would be a hit at any party or get together :D !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This turned out good. I have never had Tzatziki sauce before, so I'm not sure how it is supposed to taste, but we liked it. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My husband and I really loved this sauce. The kids thought the garlic was a bit overpowering. So, now I make the recipe with a little less garlic to start with, scoop half of the sauce into another bowl, and add extra garlic to the original bowl. That way the kids get what they want, and the adults can enjoy it, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Tried this recipe and mine turned out a tad too lemony. I take full responsibility though for not tasting as I went along. I will be making this again, but with less lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is the best tzatziki sauce ever! I am a Greek food lover, and am not able to find any other recipe that compares to this one! It's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Delicious, refreshing and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I am a hero to my family in the kitchen because of this recipe. I followed it to a "T" the first batch but really didn't care much for the cayenne pepper, it wasn't bad but not the best and just like Chef John said make it your own feel free to change it up to your likening. The next batch was out of this world good!!! The trick is to really, really dry the cucumber and add the lemon and salt a little at a time to your likening. Thanks Chef John great job! I love your videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I dont understand how people say this is an authentic tzatziki sauce. The recipe is dreadful. There are no variations of tzatziki sauce, the ingredients are very specific. Anything else is considered yogurt based sauce. 4 cloves of garlic is too much, 2 cloves for 2 cups of yogurt is enough. It should be mashed, not chopped. Cucumber is not supposed to be peeled, just wash it well and grate it (it needs to be a bit crunchy). We don't use lemon juice but red wine vinegar. Add to taste (1-2 tablespoons should be enough). Mint, cayenne pepper and black pepper are not tzatziki ingredients. Use chopped fresh dill only. You need olive oil, about 2 tablespoons for 2 cups of yogurt. One star, recipe is so tottally wrong and nowhere near authentic tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivi Dima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very good! I did add about half a cup of sour cream to it to tone it down a bit. I had a little too much garlic in it for me so next time I'm going to try half garlic and half a cucumber. I let it sit in the fridge over night and it was great! I also left out the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
So good and so easy!! Made it exactly to the recipe and would not change anything except perhaps halving it as it made a LOT for just me and my husband (however, it all got eaten)... Thanks for another awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States