Chef John's Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rickdazam
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very easy to make, this recipe packs a lot of flavor. I had to substitute some ingredients like the ancho chile powder (very hard to find in Colombia) an added others such as red and yellow bell peppers to have more veggies in the dish. Garnished with white cheddar and home made guacamole, my guests were more than happy to indulge in this hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
The video shows the 1st hour of cooking in step 3 to be in a covered pot but it does not state so in the recipe. The last 20 to 30 minutes, after adding in the beans, is done uncovered. As far as taste, I liked this quite a bit but found the finished flavor to be different than what you would expect and (for me) not quite as good as a basic chili. It may just be that I need to get used to the difference in spices. Anyway, the finished product had a nice (fairly mild) level of heat and the technique that's used cooked everything down to a good thick consistency. I will definitely follow this technique again in the future but not sure about the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
So good. This is a very forgiving recipe. I feel a little guilty rating it since I had to sub out the chipotle powder (I didn't have any and a big snow storm was limiting our options to travel to the store.) instead, I used smoked paprika - I know they have different tastes but it seemed to work. Will make it with the chipotle pepper powder next time, but even with the switch, this has to be one of the best chili recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I made this exactly as per the recipe. I despise the flavor of cinnamon but used it anyway and I believe that it denigrated the recipe for me. The rest of my family loved this recipe thus Chef John still deserves 5 stars for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have never rated a recipe on this site. (Haven't done alot at other sites either.) But, i really loved this chili. It was spicey, had a great body and flavor profile. Who knew turkey could rise to such hieghts. I am very grateful for your recipe chef John. I want to say thanks for all of your recipes. I have saved many of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
WOW. This chili blew me away. When my husband saw that there was cocoa and cinnamon in the seasoning he was skeptical, but he did not complain once he ate the first bite. The first time I made it, I added some slices of roasted green chilis (my hubby is from NM) and the second time I made it I added a can of diced tomatoes with jalapeños. Both pots of chili were FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
DELICIOUS!! We followed the recipe as written and loved every bite of this spicy, tender chili. Thanks for posting, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I was abit leary, but this is very good! I didnot use the avocado. The cocoa gave it a nice smoky flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Really nice flavor. I am somewhat of a wimp when it comes to spices, so I cut the ancho powder, chipotle powder and cayenne in half, but left the other spices as is. It was at maximum warmth for me, but had enough fire to keep El Hothead happy. Also had to add a cup more of water than called for. Chili goes really well with hard cider or beer! Or is the other way 'round? Well done, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this the other day for a chili cook off at my job. I omitted the beans (I don't like beans), I put corn in it. I used diced tomatoes, added some sugar for a little sweetness and threw in a few dried chile pods. Long story short, I won the cook off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States