Chef John's Turkey Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I had to try this burger after I saw the photo for a "Turkey Shishkaburger" while on here looking for dinner ideas. The name gave me a laugh - which is always good incentive - so I clicked on the link and was re-directed here (the written version of the Chef's video, I think). Whipped them up and they were a hit; fantastic burger! I prefer the flavours in my burgers to complement - rather than overpower - the taste of the actual meat, and this is just that burger. Beautifully moist with a nice mix of spicy and tangy without being cloying. I didn't have any chile paste, so added a pile of cracked pepper, and as usual I added an extra bit of fresh ginger and garlic. Refrigerating them first is a must: the patties are quite soft and this helps to solidify them a bit for the heat. Grilled them stove-top in a cast iron pan for 1 min. per side (to seal in all the juices!) then booted them in the oven at a high temp for 7min. Although we did top them with a little bloop of mango chutney, and the smallest sprinkling of caramelized onion and goat's cheese, these burgs would be fantastic all on their own. Glad I could be the first reviewer; Thanks, Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Out of this world delicious. The Greek yogurt really keeps the turkey from drying out and the flavor is extremely satisfying. I didn't have the almonds and only refrigerated for 30 minutes or so but they still turned out wonderfully. I served with a little lite mayo on a toasted sandwich thin. I'll have to use tomatoes next time! A recipe with minimal chopping and minimal cooking? What's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is a superb recipe! I followed it closely other than... didn't have garam masala, and the closest market didn't either, so I used some Rogan Josh seasoning. These were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
One word. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
really, really liked this. what a great blend of spices. i'm so glad i have more in the freezer for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
All I can say is OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These burgers were wonderful! I was looking for a burger recipe that I could make for my non-red-meat-eating cousin and that had low sodium/cholesterol for me (I left much of the salt out). These were juicy, flavorful, wonderfully spiced - in fact, one of the guests who usually ate the regular beef hamburgers opted for my turkey burgers, instead! I made oven baked sweet potato fries w/ zesty dipping sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is one of our favorite recipes! We raved about it to family. We use 2 pounds of ground turkey but don't alter the other ingredients except to eliminate or greatly reduce the chilli paste as I don't like spicey. I love it! Good flavor this way. We adore the cilantro and ginger. It does take a while to prepare, and these seem to disappear very quickly. Next time I will double the batch to freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Awesome burger! I didn't have any plain yogurt so just used some light sour cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
best turkey burger I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States