Chef John's Turkey Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I had to try this burger after I saw the photo for a "Turkey Shishkaburger" while on here looking for dinner ideas. The name gave me a laugh - which is always good incentive - so I clicked on the link and was re-directed here (the written version of the Chef's video, I think). Whipped them up and they were a hit; fantastic burger! I prefer the flavours in my burgers to complement - rather than overpower - the taste of the actual meat, and this is just that burger. Beautifully moist with a nice mix of spicy and tangy without being cloying. I didn't have any chile paste, so added a pile of cracked pepper, and as usual I added an extra bit of fresh ginger and garlic. Refrigerating them first is a must: the patties are quite soft and this helps to solidify them a bit for the heat. Grilled them stove-top in a cast iron pan for 1 min. per side (to seal in all the juices!) then booted them in the oven at a high temp for 7min. Although we did top them with a little bloop of mango chutney, and the smallest sprinkling of caramelized onion and goat's cheese, these burgs would be fantastic all on their own. Glad I could be the first reviewer; Thanks, Chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
VERY good! one of the best turkey burgers I've ever had. My grocery only had 20oz packages of ground turkey vs. the 24 oz needed for this recipe so my burgers came out just a TAD salty but I will be making them again. I will keep everything else the same just reduce the salt by a half tsp or so. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is a superb recipe! I followed it closely other than... didn't have garam masala, and the closest market didn't either, so I used some Rogan Josh seasoning. These were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a huge hit with my family because I didn't think my dad would care for the garam masala, surprise, he loved the spiciness. I on the other hand thought it was a little overpowering. I will definitely use this recipe for turkey burgers going forward, but will substitute the garam masala for other spices. The texture of the burgers were fabulous and we all loved the addition of ground almonds. At the last minute during assembly I found out we were out of mayo - so I had to throw something together - I used some of the low-fat Greek and put it in the food processor with fresh cilantro, basil, ginger, lemongrass and fresh lemon - OMG, it was DELICIOUS and complimented the burger perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These burgers were wonderful! I was looking for a burger recipe that I could make for my non-red-meat-eating cousin and that had low sodium/cholesterol for me (I left much of the salt out). These were juicy, flavorful, wonderfully spiced - in fact, one of the guests who usually ate the regular beef hamburgers opted for my turkey burgers, instead! I made oven baked sweet potato fries w/ zesty dipping sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Out of this world delicious. The Greek yogurt really keeps the turkey from drying out and the flavor is extremely satisfying. I didn't have the almonds and only refrigerated for 30 minutes or so but they still turned out wonderfully. I served with a little lite mayo on a toasted sandwich thin. I'll have to use tomatoes next time! A recipe with minimal chopping and minimal cooking? What's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
really, really liked this. what a great blend of spices. i'm so glad i have more in the freezer for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I am deferring this rating to my hubby who gave it a 5! He said this was really tasty, and he only wanted it as a patty with melted cheese for his dinner tonight. He kept saying that it had a lot of different flavors, and he really liked that about it. I would definitely make this again but as a sandwich the next time! Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I thought these tasted pretty good. I scaled it to 3 servings because I had 1 1/4 lbs of turkey. I used a mini burger mold and got 8 burgers. I broiled them instead of grilling them. However, I think I would have preferred them grilled. It does not say, but I would not use the leanest turkey or white meat only as mine were a little dry. Also take note of Chef John's serving suggestions. They worked well with the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
One word. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States