Chef John's Turkey Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Excellent turkey burgers. Omitted the cilantro (don't like it) and ground almonds (didn't have any) and used crushed pork rinds in place of the bread crumbs. Can't have too many burger recipes and this one is a keeper for sure. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was really good. I had to make some substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients, but I thought it was great. I used sour cream instead of yogurt, a dash of ground ginger instead of fresh, and I didn't have garam masala, so I look up what that was and added a dash of cinnamon, ground cloves, cumin, and black pepper. It tastes great even with all my substitutions. That's the fun thing about cooking - you can add a dash of this and a dash of that, and it will still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Chef John does not disappoint with this turkey burger! The spices are wonderful, the burger moist and flavorful, and it's very easy to prepare. Even my somewhat picky 9 year old declared it the best turkey burger she's ever tasted. Watching the video is helpful - definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by topangamama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I am deferring this rating to my hubby who gave it a 5! He said this was really tasty, and he only wanted it as a patty with melted cheese for his dinner tonight. He kept saying that it had a lot of different flavors, and he really liked that about it. I would definitely make this again but as a sandwich the next time! Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
My husband liked these a lot and would have given them 5 stars, my daughter did not care for the spices, and so gave them 3 stars. so, 4 for the final rating. I will make them again when my daughter isn't home for dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a huge hit with my family because I didn't think my dad would care for the garam masala, surprise, he loved the spiciness. I on the other hand thought it was a little overpowering. I will definitely use this recipe for turkey burgers going forward, but will substitute the garam masala for other spices. The texture of the burgers were fabulous and we all loved the addition of ground almonds. At the last minute during assembly I found out we were out of mayo - so I had to throw something together - I used some of the low-fat Greek and put it in the food processor with fresh cilantro, basil, ginger, lemongrass and fresh lemon - OMG, it was DELICIOUS and complimented the burger perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
We didn't care for this recipe. The flavor of garam masala overpowered everything else. If you're going to try this one, I would suggest only 1/2 tsp. of the garam masala. We love Chef John's flour tortillas and Ham and Potato soup, but this one won't appear at our table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
best turkey burger I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Awesome burger! I didn't have any plain yogurt so just used some light sour cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is one of our favorite recipes! We raved about it to family. We use 2 pounds of ground turkey but don't alter the other ingredients except to eliminate or greatly reduce the chilli paste as I don't like spicey. I love it! Good flavor this way. We adore the cilantro and ginger. It does take a while to prepare, and these seem to disappear very quickly. Next time I will double the batch to freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States