Chef John's Turkey Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Okay I have to admit. I was skeptical that I would like these nevermind that my hubby would even try them. Try them? He ate both of his with gusto and gave me an enthusiastic thumbs up. "Anytime" he said when asked if he'd eat them again. A little bit fussy but definitely follow the Chef's instructions for preparing. They almost came apart on the grill so had to handle them very gently. But they tasted AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We've made this several times and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
A different version but delicious nonetheless. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Followed this recipe to the letter and these turned out so good. Very moist and tons of flavor. **Found out, though, that hubby and I don't love the taste of fresh ginger, so I'll definitely make these again, but I'll cut the ginger down to maybe just 1/2 tsp. So if you're not so crazy about the taste of fresh ginger, keep that in mind. **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellconk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Another Chef John delicious recipe!!I didnt have garam masala so I made some homemade from a recipe on Allrecipes.com made from powdered spices. While I cant wait to try this recipe again with homemade garam masala from fresh ground spices and toasted seeds, this one came out good! I doubled the recipe and must confess to tripling the garam masala,garlic and cilantro. Came out fabulous. Instead of using a bun, we used pita and tzatziki :) Yummy!! Thanks Chef John!! PS I grilled them on a George Foreman and they were juicy, juicy juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I can't say this recipe wasn't flavorful. The directions were very easy to follow. I guess the problem lies in my stomach - it wasn't happy with the spiciness of the burger, much to my dismay. I will have to try it again leaving out the chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
OH MY MY! This burger is a wonderful expression of a great blend of spices which packs so much flavor and taste. I would give it a 10 if I could. I followed the recipe exactly. I built my burger how Chef John suggested and it was wonderful. All the flavors meld so well together. The tomatoes tossed in lemon juice added a delicious touch and it went so well with the cilantro. All the flavors compliment each other so well. This has to be one of my absolute favorites. My hubby said he couldn't wait to eat another one and I'll probably be dreaming about them in my sleep tonight haha! I cooked it on a cast iron grill on my stove top. I wouldn't recommend cooking them in a pan though, the grill worked so much better. To save time I started cooking two of them in a pan since the grill could only cook 2 at a time. I ended up taking them out because they were just parboiling in liquid and finished cooking them on the grill. They were very forgiving and cooked up well. It would be a shame to change anything in this recipe because this burger is perfect! Thank you for sharing this Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I absolutely loved this burger. I made it even a bit more spicier by adding some chopped jalapeño peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Excellent turkey burgers. Omitted the cilantro (don't like it) and ground almonds (didn't have any) and used crushed pork rinds in place of the bread crumbs. Can't have too many burger recipes and this one is a keeper for sure. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was really good. I had to make some substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients, but I thought it was great. I used sour cream instead of yogurt, a dash of ground ginger instead of fresh, and I didn't have garam masala, so I look up what that was and added a dash of cinnamon, ground cloves, cumin, and black pepper. It tastes great even with all my substitutions. That's the fun thing about cooking - you can add a dash of this and a dash of that, and it will still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Chef John’s Lamb Moussaka Burger

Watch Chef John turn a classic Greek casserole into amazing lamb burgers.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States