Chef John's Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Really nice consistency, but too sweet for our tastes. I think the tomato paste and sweet baby tomatoes were enough without sugar. When making this next time, I'll omit the sugar and just add to taste. I used one can of tomatoes and cut up a bowl of little ones from our harvest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
wooooow my family loved it , i use it in every single dish and my elder chlid eats it with every thing .. sometimes with just bread .. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tanta, Al-Gharbiyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
So good!! I made this and made Chef Johns Meatballs to go with it!! Both fantastic. The only thing I changed on this recipe is I blended with my hand blender because my kids don't like a chunky tomato sauce. The flavors were so good and went so good with the meatballs!! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
As usual, Chef John's recipes are awesome. This is no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Classen
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I've made this several times. This is the best recipe for sauce I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was VERY good. My husband just loved it and I served it with gnocci. A couple of things I did differently was; I used white wine instead of vinegar and I didn't use tomato paste as it gives me serious heart-burn. So I just simmered slowly with the lid off and let the sauce thicken on its own. SO good I'm going to make it again tonight and serve with linguini and chorizo. Oh...by the way, we have Roma tomatoes galore in our freezer - so easy to run them under hot water and pop them right out of their skins (while they are frozen) and so I used them instead of the canned ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Duuuuuuuuude!!!! That's all I can say...well not really but it sums it all up. This is so simple but so good. I went to the "big city" today and actually found some San Marzano tomatoes and I snagged them up and knew exactly what I was going to make with them. It was just a matter of what pasta dish was going to grace the presence of this sauce. I chose Chef John's Penne with Vodka Sauce found on this site. Amazing! Both of them. I didn't change a thing. I mushed the tomatoes up in my hands like I knew what I was doing and even though my taste test of the sauce at 30 minutes was to die for, I gladly cooked it another hour because well thats what we honorary Italian's do. I felt authentic, it tasted authentic and I'm happy happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes! Although, I live in a small town, and San Marzano tomatoes are not readily available. I just substituted regular canned tomatoes, and the sauce turned out completely fine. However, with that said, I managed to find a store that does sell San Marzano tomatoes, and it does make a big difference. My wife loves it every time I make this sauce. Thank you Chef John! Keep the awesome recipes coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Warren, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Fantastic, hands down the best sauce. Now a staple in this house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States