Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Absolutely the talk of our Thanksgiving dinner! Out with boring sweet potatoes and the sticky sweet marshmallow topping...this recipe is going to be a family tradition. The only thing I changed was the preparation of the potatoes: Bake those bad boys for 1.25 hours on a baking sheet at 325 degrees. Then follow the recipe exactly...perfection. I did use pecans instead of pistachios but to each his own on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a winner! Here are a few comments that might help other people: I substituted a lemon juice & milk mix for buttermilk (just google "buttermilk substitute" and you'll easily find that simple recipe). I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown, and whole wheat flour. I used a casserole dish with an 8" radius (smaller than the baking dish shown in the video) and I needed only about half the pistachio-nut mixture to cover the top, so I'm freezing the other half to use when I make the dish the next time. And one final word, perhaps mainly for novice cooks like me: The raw sweet potatoes were HARD to cut! Don't cut them the long ways first, as shown in the video -- my knife got stuck when I did that. Better to cut the short way through first so you can get some leverage with the knife. They were so hard to cut that I actually nicked my fingers twice -- so use caution when cutting them. But anyway the dish got raves from folks at our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The topping is genius - so good. Husband is allergic to pecans so works out well for us. The potato mixture is not overly sweet, very tasty but could use more butter to make it a little richer tasting. I will save this for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Good recipe, liked it a lot as others last thanksgiving (2013).... easier for me to bake the sweet potatoes, then scoop out the flesh ... my opinion is that the sweets are tastier and easier to handle. You'll see it is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Everyone raved about this dish. I did not have buttermilk, so I used one-fourth of a cup Greek yogurt instead. I also used pecans on top. It was such a nice change from the marshmallows. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautycat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I did half pistachio and half pecan for the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I have made this for our holiday meals for two years now. It has been specifically been requested for our family get together for Thanksgiving again this year. I make it exactly as written except that I use a little more vanilla extract and I have to use a gluten-free all-purpose flour. I use King Arthur's multipurpose flour and it comes out great. I usually use the pistachios, but have also used pecans and both are delicious. We love it. The pinch of cayenne may sound weird to some, especially if you're new to Chef John's recipes, but don't question it, just do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe because it was a healthier version of this casserole. I thought it lacked depth of flavor. It was good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I tried this as a side for Thanksgiving '13. It was delicious, the flavors balanced and came through well with one another. The crunch from the topping makes it even more satisfying. The whole family liked it even some who seemed hesitant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Used pecans for topping. Felt a little greasy, so may cut back on the butter in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States