Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I am a fan of Chef John especially his commentary during his video, LOL and most of my recipe comes from him. I was really doing my best on this recipe. One advise, do not overcooked the sweet potatoes, follow Chef John advise. I make a mistake in leaving the it a little too long under the broiler and it burnt:( Does anybody know what is the best dish to compliment this sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this recipe but forgot the maple syrup. It still turned out great. family loved it. Thanks so much localboy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
delicious , not too sweet .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I am also a fan of Chef John and love to watch his video demos. This dish is amazingly delicious and the pistachios really go well with it. Will be making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The topping is genius - so good. Husband is allergic to pecans so works out well for us. The potato mixture is not overly sweet, very tasty but could use more butter to make it a little richer tasting. I will save this for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Absolutely the talk of our Thanksgiving dinner! Out with boring sweet potatoes and the sticky sweet marshmallow topping...this recipe is going to be a family tradition. The only thing I changed was the preparation of the potatoes: Bake those bad boys for 1.25 hours on a baking sheet at 325 degrees. Then follow the recipe exactly...perfection. I did use pecans instead of pistachios but to each his own on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a winner! Here are a few comments that might help other people: I substituted a lemon juice & milk mix for buttermilk (just google "buttermilk substitute" and you'll easily find that simple recipe). I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown, and whole wheat flour. I used a casserole dish with an 8" radius (smaller than the baking dish shown in the video) and I needed only about half the pistachio-nut mixture to cover the top, so I'm freezing the other half to use when I make the dish the next time. And one final word, perhaps mainly for novice cooks like me: The raw sweet potatoes were HARD to cut! Don't cut them the long ways first, as shown in the video -- my knife got stuck when I did that. Better to cut the short way through first so you can get some leverage with the knife. They were so hard to cut that I actually nicked my fingers twice -- so use caution when cutting them. But anyway the dish got raves from folks at our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The best dish on thanks giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe was such a hit at Thanksgiving, I already have requests to do it again. What a wonderful light and slightly sweet side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I did half pistachio and half pecan for the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States