Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Tried this For Thanksgiving. It was the hit of the table. The pistachio mixture along with the sweet potato ingredients melded together as tho they were always meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Excellent dish! For family Thanksgiving dinner, I'm always in charge of the sweet potatoes. The family loves the candied yams but I decided to bring this in addition this year as something different. A Big Hit, rave reviews. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe for many years and it is now a staple at our family gatherings. The only thing I change is using brown sugar for the maple syrup. I may try some nutmeg and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Good recipe, liked it a lot as others last thanksgiving (2013).... easier for me to bake the sweet potatoes, then scoop out the flesh ... my opinion is that the sweets are tastier and easier to handle. You'll see it is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I have made this for our holiday meals for two years now. It has been specifically been requested for our family get together for Thanksgiving again this year. I make it exactly as written except that I use a little more vanilla extract and I have to use a gluten-free all-purpose flour. I use King Arthur's multipurpose flour and it comes out great. I usually use the pistachios, but have also used pecans and both are delicious. We love it. The pinch of cayenne may sound weird to some, especially if you're new to Chef John's recipes, but don't question it, just do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Even Collin liked this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe because it was a healthier version of this casserole. I thought it lacked depth of flavor. It was good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I tried this as a side for Thanksgiving '13. It was delicious, the flavors balanced and came through well with one another. The crunch from the topping makes it even more satisfying. The whole family liked it even some who seemed hesitant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Used pecans for topping. Felt a little greasy, so may cut back on the butter in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Everyone raved about this dish. I did not have buttermilk, so I used one-fourth of a cup Greek yogurt instead. I also used pecans on top. It was such a nice change from the marshmallows. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautycat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States