Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I want to try these meatballs, however in the instructions, #5 states to whisk in Worcestershire sauce. I don't see that in the ingredient list. How much do you use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The aroma of these as I was mixing them were wonderful, and the flavor was great too. However, there are a few key ingredients left out of the original recipe post, so this is how I made my gravy: 2 T butter 1/4 cup flour 1.5 cups beef stock 1/2 cup cream 1/2 teaspoon sugar 1 teaspoon Worchestershire sauce 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon pepper The recipe doesn't say how many meatballs this made. Making 2-3 tablespoon-sized meatballs gave me about 34 pretty big meatballs (like, spaghetti-and-meatball size versus IKEA meatball size), which needed to cook longer than the 20 minutes allotted. Mine ended up cooking for 40 minutes, and were slightly tough on the outside, and the temp only got to 150 inside with my thermometer, but they were definitely done. I think next time I will cook for a little longer at a lower temp to not have the outside so overdone. Also, the recipe called for making the gravy before making the meatballs, but I would definitely make the gravy AFTER they are cooked since it really doesn't take more than a few minutes to whisk up. The amount of gravy made with my measurements there only really coated about half the recipe (the hubby is a gravy fanatic, plus we wanted some for the potatoes too), so I'd at least double it next time since it's very thick, and doesn't stretch far. Because I was waiting so long for the meatballs to cook, the gravy got super thick, but a little splash of beef stock helped loosen it as I warmed it back up on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The meatballs were wonderful.We had to wing the gravy based on our own experience and it turned out wonderful. Again.. the meatballs were heavenly and we'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this recipe tonight and followed it exactly as written. My family LOVED these meatballs,and trust me,they are hard to please..especially my picky kids.The meatballs were amazing, perfectly seasoned.The sauce was wonderful, very delicate flavor,and since there was so much of it I served it over noodles. As I wasn't sure how it would turn out,I made the meatballs and sauce a couple of hours before dinnertime and kept it warm in a crockpot. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe! Make this for my husband at least once every 3 weeks. Didn't change a thing in the recipe. Thank you Chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These are simply delicious. Easy to make. If you want the gravy thicker simply simmer once the meatballs are incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
these were awesome, better than ikea's even :) remember, to avoid tough meatballs, don't overmix and try to use a melon baller to shape the balls, as the heat from your hands will tend to break them down a bit. the only thing i changed with this recipe is that i used an 8oz container of fresh mushrooms, which were browned in butter before adding to this delicious gravy. i also added a smidge of allspice. delicious! our store doesn't carry lingonberries so i made some homemade cranberry sauce using the teeny cranberries, with a bit of tangerine zest. very nice substitute using commonly found ingredients. used homemade creme fraiche for this recipe, and served over egg noodles from trader joe's. bork bork!! this is my husbands all time favorite dinner, i made it for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This review is for the gravy part of this recipe only (although I'm sure the meatballs are fabulous too; after all, this is a Chef John recipe). I made Johnsonville Italian Meatballs and, as an afterthought, decided I wanted a Swedish meatball dish. So I began looking and decided to make this sauce. It is a little bit thinner than what I've had before, but that didn't bother me at all. I didn't add any extra salt or pepper since my meatballs used hot Italian sausage. I served the meatballs and gravy over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Perfect! I will definitely make this again. I made no changes to the recipe and the whole family devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States