Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Chef John provides another great recipe. Loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
A lot of work. I turned my meatballs 1/2 way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Chef John you have done it again! Best recipe for Swedish meatballs I have ever tried and I've tried many. His tip to use a combination of ground chuck and ground pork and then bake the meatballs is the trick. In the past I have always used lean beef and fried them. By baking you eliminate a lot of the fat, but keep the added flavor. I used 2 cans of Swanson beef broth since some readers complained there was not enough sauce, and served it over egg noodles with chunky cranberry sauce on the side. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I added 3 tables spoons cognac, 1/4 table spoon onion powder and 1/4 table spoon garlic powder; omitted the cayenne and added 2 tables spoons soy sauce and worcestershire each to the ground meat,which was ground pork,lamb and veal all about 20% fat and 3 tables spoons rendered duck fat.I also added 1 tables spoon brandy and soy sauce to sauce and wisked in sour cream and lingonberries right into the sauce.It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Boozer
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Fantastic meatballs. I use this meatball recipe twice. Once with this sauce and once from the Easy Swedish meatball sauce recipe from this site. Both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Didn't change a thing and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe Chef! Tastes exactly like Ikea meatballs (which I am an addict for). Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The only thing I changed was using 18% cream instead of 35. I then thickened the sauce with some cornstarch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rémi Paulin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I just had a party of 6 over for dinner. I served the Swedish meatballs over pars lied potatoes and it was a hit! I used rice starch instead of flour and added mushrooms to the sauce. My husband said I can definitely make it again. I also used a whole onion because I like the taste and it helped keep the meatballs together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Warnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
We used chicken broth italian herbs i had from chicken i had prepared previously. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States