Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
You have to add a couple of dashes of Nutmeg to the Sauce,but otherwise perfect.This is the first one ever to impress me.Well done!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nlundgren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My family of picky eaters loved it. A lot of prep but we'll worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Totally fabulous... Love chef John, best Swedish meatball recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
It was delicious! I swapped the cream for whole milk to make it healthier and my family raved about how awesome the dish was. Will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Wow! These were so good. Even my super picky kids loved them. The sauce this makes is fantastic. I'll double it next time so I have more to use over noodles or rice. I suggest watching Chef John's video on how he makes this - it is very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Great recipe, but just be prepared for the steam that jets out of the oven. At 425 degrees, those meatballs give off a lot of steam. I suffered 2nd degree burns on both forearms, and I'm a pretty experienced responsible cook. Be careful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very good, comfort food! I prepared meatballs per recipie except I used garlic and herb breadcrumbs. I think the garlic worked well. I put half of the prepared and baked meatballs in the freezer for another day. Since I wanted extra gravy anyway, I followed the recipie as written and served the half recipie meatballs and full gravy recipie over hot noodles. It made a very nice dinner for my husband and me with left overs for the next day. I'll repeat the gravy when I pull out the frozen meatballs. The only thing I would have done differently was step up the cayenne pepper a notch. I liked it as is but my husband would like a little more spice.... (I'm hiding a smirk!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I loved this recipe! I did double the gravy and added 2 beef bouillon cubes for more flavor, and some sautéed sliced baby bella mushrooms, but beyond that, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States