Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this with the Christmas Lefsa recipe. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
So delicious! I watched Chef John's video and followed this recipe and my first time making these turned out awesome. I like it that the meatballs were baked first. I think this makes it less greasy than if I would've sautee them in the skillet. I also used pork with 25% fat as he recommended. Wow! The meatballs came out super tender. But you'll have to skim off a layer of fat in the gravy in the end. The gravy by itself is quite bland. The only thing I would change is to simmer the meatballs in the gravy for 20 minutes instead of 5, so the spices from the meat will carry into the gravy. This is a time consuming recipe best left for the weekend but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I've loved Swedish meatballs for years and this was the first time making them. I thought the recipe was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This Recipe was great, only thing that was needed was doubling the recipe for the sauce. Meatballs soak up all the sauce and barely any left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is absolutely amazing!!! I just got done making, and the meatballs are the best I've ever made! The flavor of just the meatballs alone are outstanding! I did double the gravy and added 2 beef bouillon cubes for more flavor, but beyond that, I didn't change a thing! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Perfect!!! I have been searching for a recipe for Swedish meatballs for some time now, and this is A KEEPER! Its printed and in my recipe binder already. I love everything that comes from Chef John! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
If you are used to only beef meatballs, you can just use all beef. The texture seems odd to me but it was still good. It will just take getting used to having pork/beef meatballs. They taste great; I'm just used to all beef meatballs. However, the sauce is divine! I grew up on using the McCormick Swedish Meatball seasoning, and I have been trying to find a recipe to emulate it. This is so much better! Even the seasoning on the meatballs is better! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Had this for dinner tonight and it was excellent! Best meatballs I think I've ever had and the gravy is to die for over mashed potatoes. Didn't change a thing except for adding a 1/4 tsp of browning sauce to the gravy because I thought it was too pale-looking. Adding to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I used his normal meatball recipe (but used venison instead of pork) and doubled it all for my daughters birthday party. It was a huge hit! I will definitely be making it again! 4 pounds of meatballs and the sauce doubled, at the end of the party there were only 2 meatballs left! The best thing I've ever made! I love Chef John's recipes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
If I could give it 6 stars I would! Absolutely delicious. Made it per recipe except for allspice (which I didn't have so I left it out) and heavy cream (all I had was 2% lactose free milk). I did have to leave them in the over for an extra 10 minutes but that might just be my oven. Will be part of my regular menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States