Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I just viewed Chef John's video for the Swedish Meatballs. This dish has always been one of my favorites and I have been looking for a recipe which tastes great. This one is the recipe I've been looking for. BTW, the video was most instructive and his delivery was very entertaining. I found your sense of humor to be very much like my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michder 61
Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Yummmmm This recipe changed my hubbys view of Swedish Meatballs. He was not a fan from past experience but we both loved your recipe. I had to do some substitutions because I didnt have all of the ingredients. I didn't have beef broth so I used 4 beef boulion cubes. I didn't have All Spice so I used Apple Pie Spice (which is nutmeg, cinnamon and all spice). I had to cut back a smidge on the Nutmeg ingredient because of this. I Also added more cayenne, I doubled the cayenne because I love my pepper. By doing this it added some heat to the sweet. I didn't have plain breadcrumbs (surprisingly) but I did have have seasoned Panko breadcrumbs so I used those. I also used ground turkey instead of the main meat ingredients. I dont usually like to substitute until after I tried the recipe for the first time on its own, but aside from the meat and double cayenne I don't think my alterations would have made a major difference in the flavor. Thank You Very Much this is a great recipe, gonna try your Fried Chicken today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I thought this dinner was delicious.. It was awesome.. Even received a compliment from the other that ate it with.. That was a surprise.. they were yummy! thank you.. for such great recipe and great dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbiedoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ladonia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Chef John never ceases to amaze me - every recipe I try is worth it. I couldn't give it 5 stars just because I didn't follow recipe exactly, but great all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Love these! The gravy is wonderful, too. I added a little garlic and it made the flavor a little more robust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this recipe as stated. I live with a Swedish-Finn, and he though the recipe outstanding. I made this with salad and steamed potatoes one night, and rice and steamed green beans the next; I served homemade lingonberry preserves with both. This was a great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is the Second recipe we have tried from the same person & we loved it! we would maybe make the meatballs a little smaller as we struggled to eat two cooked meatballs with mashed potatoes) and we are a family that loves sauce, so we would at least double the amount of sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Very good! I used ground chicken for the meat (because that is what I had on hand) and added extra breadcrumbs to make up for the extra moisture in ground chicken. Loved the meatball seasoning. Gravy was very good, used lowfat condensed milk in place of cream and for extra deep flavor in the gravy, I added about a 1/2 tsp. instant coffee. I know it sounds weird, but this is an ingredient I have always put in Swedish meatballs to deepen the flavor. I served them over spatzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Perfect! I will definitely make this again. I made no changes to the recipe and the whole family devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States