Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
If you like the banquet Swedish meatballs, you're going to love these. Followed the recipe very closely, except I used panko in place of breadcrumbs. I didn't have milk (or much time) so I omitted it and skipped the 1-hour refrigeration. I imagine that soaking the breadcrumbs would only improve the flavor. I absolutely recommend this! can't wait to have it for dinner again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I'm Norwegian, and these are just like I remember eating as a kid. The gravy was perfect, although I must admit I used half and half instead of heavy cream, and had to thicken the gravy a bit with Wondra. But that's not a complaint; I substituted according to what I had on hand. I may increase the seasonings just a tad next time. This will be my go-to recipe for Norwegian (oops - Swedish)meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I really didn't like the sweetness of the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Pretty tasty. Very hearty. Obviously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Chef John provides another great recipe. Loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
A lot of work. I turned my meatballs 1/2 way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Chef John you have done it again! Best recipe for Swedish meatballs I have ever tried and I've tried many. His tip to use a combination of ground chuck and ground pork and then bake the meatballs is the trick. In the past I have always used lean beef and fried them. By baking you eliminate a lot of the fat, but keep the added flavor. I used 2 cans of Swanson beef broth since some readers complained there was not enough sauce, and served it over egg noodles with chunky cranberry sauce on the side. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I added 3 tables spoons cognac, 1/4 table spoon onion powder and 1/4 table spoon garlic powder; omitted the cayenne and added 2 tables spoons soy sauce and worcestershire each to the ground meat,which was ground pork,lamb and veal all about 20% fat and 3 tables spoons rendered duck fat.I also added 1 tables spoon brandy and soy sauce to sauce and wisked in sour cream and lingonberries right into the sauce.It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Boozer
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Fantastic meatballs. I use this meatball recipe twice. Once with this sauce and once from the Easy Swedish meatball sauce recipe from this site. Both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Didn't change a thing and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States