Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is absolutely amazing!!! I just got done making, and the meatballs are the best I've ever made! The flavor of just the meatballs alone are outstanding! I did double the gravy and added 2 beef bouillon cubes for more flavor, but beyond that, I didn't change a thing! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Perfect!!! I have been searching for a recipe for Swedish meatballs for some time now, and this is A KEEPER! Its printed and in my recipe binder already. I love everything that comes from Chef John! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
If you are used to only beef meatballs, you can just use all beef. The texture seems odd to me but it was still good. It will just take getting used to having pork/beef meatballs. They taste great; I'm just used to all beef meatballs. However, the sauce is divine! I grew up on using the McCormick Swedish Meatball seasoning, and I have been trying to find a recipe to emulate it. This is so much better! Even the seasoning on the meatballs is better! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Had this for dinner tonight and it was excellent! Best meatballs I think I've ever had and the gravy is to die for over mashed potatoes. Didn't change a thing except for adding a 1/4 tsp of browning sauce to the gravy because I thought it was too pale-looking. Adding to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I used his normal meatball recipe (but used venison instead of pork) and doubled it all for my daughters birthday party. It was a huge hit! I will definitely be making it again! 4 pounds of meatballs and the sauce doubled, at the end of the party there were only 2 meatballs left! The best thing I've ever made! I love Chef John's recipes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
If I could give it 6 stars I would! Absolutely delicious. Made it per recipe except for allspice (which I didn't have so I left it out) and heavy cream (all I had was 2% lactose free milk). I did have to leave them in the over for an extra 10 minutes but that might just be my oven. Will be part of my regular menu from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I must say that I have made several recipes from Chef John and they never disappoint. That includes this one. I had never made Swedish Meatballs before but had eaten them at a party; I will make them again since my family loved this recipe. I did change it somewhat, I had no ground pork and so I used all ground beef but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Fixed mashed potatoes and English peas and everyone enjoyed the meal immensely. I thank you very much Chef John for sharing your recipes with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
So easy to make; I used a meatloaf mix with veal. They were absolutely divine and gravy was perfect!! This will become one of my favorites for dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very good. My maternal grandmother was from Sweden; I think she would have liked these meatballs. I didn't have plain pork so I used ground pork sausage 1/3 to ground beef 2/3. It added a nice dimension to the flavors. I like my gravy thicker and the amount was inadequate for this recipe so used used my own tried-and-true gravy recipe and added pan drippings as much as I could. I don't understand the sugar so didn't put that in but I added a little chopped parsley to the gravy. I put the recipe in my recipe box! thanks John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is amazing! I have always loved Swedish Meatballs, but never made them myself, so this was my first try. They are so easy to make. My extremely picky five year old cleaned his plate and asked for seconds! I about fainted, he never asks for seconds. I served them with noodles, since my little picky guy will not touch potatoes, and it was wonderful together. The only change I made was using all beef, as I didn't have pork on hand. Next time I will try it with the pork, I think it will make a difference. And next time I will cut back just a little on the nutmeg. It wasn't terribly overpowering, but it definitely stood out. And I also recommend at least doubling the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States