Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made the recipe exactly as written. We loved it and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I know I cooked them a little too long. The flavor was not good. Chef John is great, but this just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
As always, Chef John does not disappoint with his excellent instructional videos and humorous delivery. This recipe was awesome...easy to follow and my family of four was over the moon about this dish. The only thing I changed was to use a meatball blend of beef, pork, and veal that my supermarket carries. Meatballs were flavorful and tender. It will definitely be added to the "greatest hits" part of my recipe collection. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
this is a favorite in my house. my husband loves it! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyPook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This recipe is awesome! Everyone in my family loved it. Will definitely make again. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This was good. I'm not sure where I went wrong but my sauce did not thicken up easily. I ended up adding a bit of corn starch at the end to get it to a consistency that we wanted. Flavor was fantastic. We served it over couscous which was excellent! Will make it again. Also, used oatmeal in place of bread crumbs because that's how my mom always does it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
The meatballs were a bit bland. Next Time I will probably double the spices. The gravy was fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
These were so yummy! The only thing I did differently was that I did not refrigerate the meat. I didn't have enough time for that step, but my meatballs still kept their shape and were easy enough to form. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I served these for a church supper. I made 4 times the amount and the were gone very quickly! Putting foil on the pan like the video suggests was very helpful for clean up. I think I will add mushrooms next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. The only thing I did different was to add 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon onion powder, a dash of hot sauce, and an extra 1/4 teaspoon of worcestershire to the gravy. I served it over mashed potatoes, and it was absolutely delicious! A true comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States