Chef John's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Yum! Such a flavorful juicy meatball! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
1st time making it and it was a BIG hit. Followed the recipe and everything was perfect. I couldn't find the lingnonberry preserves so I used currant jelly and it was still awesome. Love Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
These are wonderfully tasty and extremely easy to make. I made these exactly as the recipe called and everyone including my 3 y.o. granddaughter loved them. You are truly the master Chef John!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Meatballs came out fantastic... As for the gravy, A little too thin for my liking. I simply added a little cornstarch to thicken it up. I also added a tablespoon of sour cream to the sauce. That was for my taste. Overall, the recipe was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
These Swedish meatballs were delicious! I only had ground beef on hand so used 2 lbs of that and I was out of bread crumbs so dried out some bread slices in the oven and crushed. Will definitely be making this again, thank you for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this with the Christmas Lefsa recipe. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
So delicious! I watched Chef John's video and followed this recipe and my first time making these turned out awesome. I like it that the meatballs were baked first. I think this makes it less greasy than if I would've sautee them in the skillet. I also used pork with 25% fat as he recommended. Wow! The meatballs came out super tender. But you'll have to skim off a layer of fat in the gravy in the end. The gravy by itself is quite bland. The only thing I would change is to simmer the meatballs in the gravy for 20 minutes instead of 5, so the spices from the meat will carry into the gravy. This is a time consuming recipe best left for the weekend but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I've loved Swedish meatballs for years and this was the first time making them. I thought the recipe was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This Recipe was great, only thing that was needed was doubling the recipe for the sauce. Meatballs soak up all the sauce and barely any left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is absolutely amazing!!! I just got done making, and the meatballs are the best I've ever made! The flavor of just the meatballs alone are outstanding! I did double the gravy and added 2 beef bouillon cubes for more flavor, but beyond that, I didn't change a thing! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States