Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I was a little reluctant when while preparing and realized that the Hamburg goes in raw. I read it through a few times to make sure I didn't miss anything! These by far, are the best stuffed peppers I've ever made!!!! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
As so many before me have noted, these are the best stuffed peppers ever! I had planned to make stuffed peppers for dinner, but couldn't find my recipe. Thank goodness I lost it and found this one!! I modified the recipe out of necessity, as I did not have time to go to the grocery to get the extra ingredients "my new favorite recipe" called for. I did not have pepper flakes or parsley, and I did not use substitutIons. I prefer lean meats, so I used ground venison in place of the ground beef. Instead of the sausage, I added another half cup of rice. I added a tablespoon of olive oil to the meat mixture for added fat. The tomato sauce was superb and there was plenty to pour over the peppers at serving time. As the recipe didn't state how to divide the parmesan cheese, I put 2/3 of a cup in the stuffing mixture and 1/3 on the top of the peppers. I thought the amount of stuffing was perfect for my 4 average to large sized peppers, which I cut in half length wise. Really push the stuffing in and you'll have them just nicely heaped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was absolutely delicious. After reading the reviews, I made sure to have extra peppers on hand in case I had extra stuffing. I doubled the recipe because we were having a huge family gathering. I had enough to fill 16 large peppers. I followed the recipe exactly. Everyone loved them. The sauce was absolutely incredible too. I've never been disappointed with any of Chef John's recipes and these stuffed peppers were a big hit with my entire family, even the kids. It's now considered one of my favorites to bring to gatherings as well as a monthly meal in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I've made this recipe three times to the absolute delight of my entire family. Each time, I've not had the ground beef and sausage available so have substituted Meatless Ground and vegetable broth (tasty vegetarian meal!), mild pork sausage, and leftover surf & turf (steak and prawns). I always omit the cayenne and red pepper flakes for a family member who doesn't appreciate spicy and there is still plenty of flavor. That I can substitute the main protein each time while consistently getting rave reviews is a testament to how good this recipe is. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I have made this recipe twice, and my fiance and I just love it! I will definitely be making this again soon. Thanks Chef John for the amazing recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMMYGRRL723

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very, very good. Whole family loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Definitely 5 star worthy. It's the best recipe that I have found on this site. The sauce was awsome. I used 8 peppers instead of 4, cut the tops off and removed the seeds. It was perfect for the amount of peppers for the filling. The filling would not have fit in 4 peppers cut in half. The wife loved it too! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Wow these are yummy!!! These are the best I've ever had. The Italian sausage (I used HOT) made all the difference. Definitely a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Used yellow peppers and cut the crushed red pepper by a bit but overall was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marsan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bridgette Eaby
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have never really tried stuffed peppers until today. This was filling and delicious. If you want to speed up the process some prepare all the stuff earlier than when you want to cook it. I also had to cook the meat and sausage before using it to fill. It may or may not have lost some flavor though, but either way it was great. I actually decided to make this after my husband asked for some homemade stuffed peppers. He was more than satisfied and those that ate it loved it. (My kids are super picky about spices) this came out perfect either way, and there is still some filling left over even after I over stuffed the peppers. However, this may be due to a bit more meat than a pound and the 1/4 lb of sausage (I'm not sure how much i actually used on both but i am sure it was over the amount called for). This will become a regular in my house but now i know what to do better. Awesome recipie, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette Eaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States