Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
this recipe was absolutely delicious. I too omitted the beef broth simply because I didn't have it....but it had the perfect flavor and just the right amount of kick to it ! Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I served these to company and we all really liked this dish. I followed the recipe as closely as possible and it made just enough stuffing for 6 medium peppers. I had to substitute the cheese as I couldn't find Parmigiano-Reggiano so I used an Italian 5 cheese blend, and I used dried parsley. We had 2 peppers leftover and they were even better the next night. I will definitely make them again, but next time I will boil the peppers first, only because we like them a little softer, and I'll make sure I have the right cheese and parsley on hand. I will also make them a day ahead and will use more cheese, again our preference. I will start looking for recipes by Chef John - this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utahnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Excellent. My Italian husband said it was the best stuffed peppers he has ever had! I did make some changes: I parboiled the peppers, omitted the sausage, and used leftover homemade marinara for the sauce. The only thing I would change for next time would be to cut the salt in half. One teaspoon is enough as it was slightly too salty. But I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Yes I tire it, and it was a big disappointment! After one bite, my wife wouldn't eat it and I ate some only because I spent 2 hours making it! I followed the recipe exactly, except for using red bell peppers instead of green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is great and I made it exactly as written. The sauce is really good- the balsamic giving it a nice touch. When I make this again, like other reviewers, I may double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
made these tonight and they are great! I did add mushrooms and saute'd them with the onion but thats the only thing I added. And I used 4 LARGE green peppers, NOT halved, used the whole pepper. It does make a whole lot of meat mixture, the extra I put in the freezer. Will make again for sure! I like that the meat and spice flavors were not covered by a 'ketchup' flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Thank You Chef John,I made these almost as you said except I traded Italian sausage for A hot breakfast sausage, just a personal preference and they were delicious!!!I have always liked stuff peppers but these are absolutely THE BEST I have eaten!!Everyone that I serve thse to says REALLY GOOD-- VERY GOOD__ ABSOLUTE BEST--YES I WILL MAKE AGAIN MANY TIMES*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The BEST stuffed peppers I have ever eaten! And I was really counting on it, because I used two large, beautiful bell peppers from my garden ... the biggest I grew this summer, and I wanted them to be memorable. Chef John's recipe did not disappoint. These were far better than the ones I remember my Mom making with tomato soup (that I never cared for). These babies were the bomb. I cut the recipe in half because I only had the two peppers, and just my husband and myself to feed. The leftovers, taken on a camping trip and reheated, were awesome too. Five Star Stuffed (homegrown) Peppers, eaten at a picnic table overlooking the McKenzie River ... beat that, gourmet restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Soooo good!!! My whole family enjoyed these! It truly deserves the 5 stars rating!! Plus super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is the best stuffed pepper recipe ever!!! I didn't change a thing. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States