Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Robin Cornelison
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I use tomato sauce instead of marinara, I use a pound of sausage for 1.5-2 pounds of beef and I double the sauce recipe. I usually buy 6 large peppers to make 12 peppers and then I use any leftover filling to make a small loaf in another pan (also put sauce in the pan.) I cook a little longer than it says to make the peppers softer and I also add mozzarella cheese the last 20 minutes, to give it a nice topping. I use large peppers and it is a meal in itself, serve with a salad. For the holidays I am going to try to make the recipe with smaller peppers to make appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Cornelison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I was very pleased with this recipe. While it was my first time preparing stuffed peppers with raw meat, I liked how they turned out and preferred the taste of the peppers with the longer cook time and flavorful sauce base. I used a cup of cooked quinoa in place of the rice but aside from this made no substitutions. I will definitely prepared stuffed peppers using this method next time. While I agree it was difficult to understand how the cheese was to be divided, next time I would probably use half in the mixture and half atop the peppers. I might even add more to the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Galbraith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I LOVED THIS! It was so tasty and filling and the left overs the next day were still just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janicemae
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I used sweet Italian sausage instead of hot and used an extra can of chopped tomato. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazing! By far, the best stuffed peppers I've ever had. I use ground turkey in place of the beef. I also cook the turkey and sausage before stuffing into the peppers. It cuts down on the baking time and allows me to cook them just until the peppers are perfectly cooked to my liking. ( I like a tiny bit of crunch left in the peppers). I usually use brown rice that I have boiled in reduced sodium chicken broth and it adds a nice flavor. This recipe is more time consuming than any other stuffed pepper recipe I have tried but I promise, it is worth every minute spent in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I was hesitant of this recipe because it seemed weird to me to put the meat raw into the peppers. The overwhelmingly high ratings persuaded me and they were delicious. Next time though, I will boil the peppers for a few minutes before stuffing them to soften them up. Don't forget to pour the sauce from the pan over the peppers before serving like I did until I realized they seemed kind of dry without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA
Photo by SoupClub217
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Thought this recipe was spot on, doubled it and added fresh jalepeno diced and added to meat mixture. Added mozzarella cheese on top in place of parmigiana. Great meal everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The best, enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gunsandsoup
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I had a lot of fun making this. I followed the instructions pretty closely but made done adjustments. -i used white cheddar instead of parmesean... Just wanted to make use of what i already had on hand. Cut it into tiny blocks. - instead of red pepper flakes i used sriracha sauce. Same reason as above. I didn'texactly measure but it was close to 2 tbsp -i used a whole jar of marinara. I felt like the recipe needsmore moisture to keep the peppers from drying. -lastly i rotated the dish. halfway through...alll ovens have hot spots. I also "basted" the peppers frequently Sitting the last third of cooking with the tomato sriracha mixture in the pan. All in all i was happily surprised. Thanks john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I lost my old recipe my mother used from an Old Betty Crocker cookbook. I decided to try this, I'm so glad I did. I didn't use the pork sausage because my husband doesn't care for it and I used Colby Jack cheese because that's what I had. It's so delicious. The best stuffed peppers I've ever eaten. I'm eating leftovers for lunch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States