Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TruCarMa
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This was my first attempt at stuffed bell peppers in quite a while. I vaguely recall earlier efforts as not being terribly successful. Still, I bought some beautiful bell peppers and needed a dinner recipe that would feature them. I tried Chef John's version of stuffed bell peppers, and they were a HUGE hit! I modified the recipe slightly based on what I had in the cupboard. I used red and yellow bell peppers rather than green. I didn't have Italian sausage on hand, so I used 1.3 lbs of ground beef. To give them a spicy kick, I substituted a can of Rotel for the diced tomatoes, and a small can of chopped green chiles for the Italian parsley. I didn't have finely grated cheese on hand, but I did have a shredded four cheese blend, so I used that instead. They were so good, I had one for breakfast and we are looking forward to leftovers tonight! This recipe will definitely become a frequent favorite for my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruCarMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I have made these several times and will never make stuffed peppers any other way. I shared them at work and people want to buy them. Chef John is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
OMG AMAZING!!!!! I have always been one to hate bell peppers just never really liked them. I could cook with them in things but the thought of eating this much just as the pepper itself made me never want to try it. This is now my new favorite dish. The flavors were amazing. it was a huge hit with the family. Will also be using this as a recipe for spaghetti sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
boring........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas van Bracht

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by charise
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I'm a beginner and it still turned out great!! I love this app!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Made for the first time tonight. The only change I made was dried parsley since I didn't have fresh. My husband said they were the best stuffed peppers he has ever eaten. I'm not a big fan of stuffed peppers but I thought these were fantastic! Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow. Will definitely be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Chef John has another winner! I used sweet Italian sausage instead of the hot and cut back on the black pepper to reduce but not eliminate the bite. The sweet sausage added a very positive flavor element. The cooking time (45 min + 25 min) was on the nose. The whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Tried this recipe and I loved it! The flavours were really good and blended well. I didn't have the onion so I sub'd some onion powder into the sauce and it was yummy. I don't like onions much anyways, but that's beside the point. I only had 3 large peppers so I halved them and used only about half of the recipe and froze the other half for a later date. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie Bilotti
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
AMAZING!!! That's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Bilotti

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was so amazingly delicious. My husband, who never eats leftovers, requested we eat this for lunch tomorrow. They're the best stuffed peppers I've ever tasted. I omitted the cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes (we have a toddler and I was concerned about heat), and used red wine instead of beef broth (which necessitated a pinch of brown sugar to even out the sourness). I also threw some shredded mozzarella on the top with the Parmesan. I can't wait to make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States