Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lazy Lady
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Wonderful! I made it three times within the last two months...each time with different greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Fantastic! I followed the recipe as far as ingredients, but since I don't have a saute pan I can put in the oven I piled everything into a quiche pan (10 1/2" diameter; 2" height). It was therefore not as thin as in a large saute pan, so took longer to set (approx 30 minutes). I also really don't like runny eggs, so the 30 minutes let it set all the way through and was a little browned on top without broiling, but without making the eggs tough. I will definitely make this again. I could easily cut this into 1" pieces to make appetizers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Absolutely outstanding! Made exactly as directed... except... had no feta cheese, so I sprinkled shredded cheddar on top, and then thought, "What the heck, I'll put some fresh mozzarella rounds on top of the cheddar and see what happens!" OH, MY! Thanks CJ, for yet another great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I used kale and Swiss chard, because I didn't have any spinach and had kale and Swiss chard!! Also used scallions because they were going to be discarded soon! Turned out very flavorful! Putting it under the broiler made the top crispy and wonderful! I would make this again and add mushrooms to it next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Easy and delicious ! I added sauted mushrooms. Onlt used 8 eggs cause thats all i had and it was just fine.A little more feta and sliced pepperoncini on top for a little extra zip :-) great for my low carb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good...I had some kalamata olives which I added albeit sparingly because of the salt. Turned out just as promised. Note that the video and the recipe are different, at least with regards to cooking the spinach. I sauteed mine. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My chickens are giving me 10 eggs a day so I'm always trying to find new recipes to use the eggs up!!! This was really good....I did add 6 more eggs because I added some ham and mushrooms and a bit more spinach and onions. It's a keeper...eat it for breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Add more eggs(4)or less spinach more Feta cheese. May add mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have made this twice now.. It is a nice change from the quiche with cottage cheese that I make. It is firm and delicious, great warm or cold as leftovers from the fridge. The texture is wonderful. The feta cheese adds the perfect amount of saltiness and compliments the eggs and spinach without overpowering the favors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Love Chef John! Great recipe. Also, his video on Perfect Mashed Potatoes on YouTube is not only perfect, but fun just listening to him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States