Chef John's Spanish Garlic Soup (Sopa de Ajo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I have made this soup twice...each time it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FancyNancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Not sure what went wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, but it didn't turn out red, like the photo shown. (i used Penzey's paprika, so it shouldn't be a problem there) Flavor: tasted a lot like ramen noodles, minus the noodles. Disappointed. Giving it 2 starts because the eggs on top of soup were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
It's flavorful. The eggs do not stay nicely in the liitle indentations. They all sunk to the bottom of the pan so I had to fish them out and ended up breaking two of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Reminds me a bit of a French onion soup but without the onions and cheese. The eggs give it a wicked twist, definitely one to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wroclaw, Lower Silesian, Poland
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This has become a favorite in my house! This soup is so flavorful and satisfying. I eat this year round. I love it without the ham but my partner absolutely loves the ham dynamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Sharkface Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Fantastic soup, easy, quick and cheap! I tried it also with just regular slices of bread: it is not the same of course, but still very tasty!! We also substituted paprika with smoked paprika and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giulia Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
As a native Spaniard, (from Madrid), I give this recipe a 4 because is a pretty close one to be authentic. We do NOT use ham or cayenne. There is a misconception about Spanish food, we do not have that many spicy dishes at all, far from Mexican food, where they like it hot. A variation is to cut the bread in cubes instead of leaving it whole, and to stir in the egg beaten, like you do with Chinese egg drop soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
What a great recipe! I liked to use a little less paprika not to overpower the garlic flavour. The garlic flavour is subtle, kind of like onions in a French onion soup. This brought me right back to this Spanish restaurant I went with my family a long time ago. I'm happy to have found this little gem, it really brings me back. Thanks Chef John! Love all your recipes, you have great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States