Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made it just as the recipe suggested. Not sure what I did wrong, but mine came out sorta chunky! At first I thought it was the cheese conglomerating together, but actually I think the egg scrambled! It tasted good, but it definitely was NOT creamy! Any suggestions on how to avoid scrambling the egg mixture when you add it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
So simple. Family loved it. IWish we had a real Italian market for Guanciale. Making my own. Know it will be better than what was prepackaged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I'm half Italian and have been living here for over 28 years. So I can fully guarantee that the above recipe is correct. Hence the 5 stars. However there is a small cooking trick that we do here in Italy to make sure that the sauce is creamy and that the eggs don't curdle. First we only use the yellow of the eggs inorder to make the egg taste not so strong (you may use the whole egg if you want). Second you should beat the egg and mix a part of the grated cheese together and then add a couple of spoonfools of the pasta water while the pasta is boiling to this mixture. The pasta water will help make this mixture creamy. When you add the egg mixture it should be done on either a very low heat or even better off the stove. If necessary add extra pasta water. All the rest remains the same... ingredients ect... hope this helps it works for me now my pasta is never dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Whoa, Mama, was this good! I also used onion with the bacon, and it gave a nice touch. Didn't have pecorino cheese handy, so I used straight parm-reggiano. So glad I learned how to do this kind of sauce with egg instead of cream, as it provides a lower-calorie alternative. Big fan of Chef John's, and as always he makes it easy. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made this last night, I added red pepper flakes to it, omg it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Absolutely, delicious! My only change: As a garlic lover, after the pancetta was slightly crisp I added 2 minced cloves for a quick sauté. All else was made according to Chef John's instructions, and my husband and I loved the results! Thank you for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made this for my men tonight- husband ate three plates. Very very tasty. I used bacon and cheddar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I prepared this recipe as written with the exceptions that I was short a little pancetta so I made up the difference with some prosciutto. I used Parmesan and some picante aged provolone to replace the Romano cheese. Authentic Italian carbonara does not use cream. The dish received good reviews. All of the Chef John recipes I have made were accurate and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Top of the chart! I, too, saute diced onion with the pancetta. Also, flake salmon over the top before serving. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Husband loved it. I liked it. But I did use pancetta and I realize now that I would much prefer bacon. I will make again using bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States